PAL duplication for DCS board

Pinup
ADSP

Extraction of the PAL

Study and analysis of a DCS audio card and PAL replacement by a GAL.

Create a substitute GAL by reverse-engeenering.

Presentation

From 1993, Midway (Bally / Williams) equipped its pinball machines with a DCS audio board A-16917. This board is built around a DSP processor (ADSP-2105) and a PAL (PAL 20L8) is used to simplify the electronics.

DCS board

The PAL are components that unfortunately can erode over time and cause a failure of the card. On the board A-16917, the PAL is mounted on a socket which will facilitate its replacement.

DCS board

The PAL is protected, it is impossible to read its content to then be duplicated, as can be done with the EPROM. The risk of erasure is very real, since these cards date from 1984 and the retention period announced by the manufacturer is about twenty years. The only way to preserve them, will be to analyze the functioning of the PAL in order to be able to reprogram an equivalent component.

Analysis

To achieve this, we used our universal test bench. Thanks to it and the component tester module, we can control all the pins of the PAL without having to connect any wire. No need to take out the board to wire, we just connect our suitcase to a PC:

PAL analysis

The PAL is placed on the ZIF socket of the component tester:

PAL analysis

To control the different pins, one uses the module GENERIC DIP, by choosing a box DIP-24:

PAL analysis

To quickly identify the signals assigned on the PAL, the Post-It method pasted on the screen is very effective:

PAL analysis

Decoding & Encoding

By varying the inputs and looking at the behavior of the outputs, we get to establish the operating rules of the circuit. Of course, we proceed by moderation, but here the experience and the knowledge of the components play a key role. Intuition and expertise make it possible to avoid testing unnecessary combinations.

The exercise is complicated when certain signals act as flip-flops, in other words in "sequential" logic and no longer in "combinatorial" logic. This is the case here, because although the PAL 20L8 is of the "simple" type (and not "registered" as the 20R8), it is quite possible to have a complex behavior, sequenced.

But with a little logic and a lot of practice, we're doing. In the end, we write on paper the logical and sequential equations.

Decoding

For example, for the ROM Chip Select (ROMCS) signal, one can easily determine that it depends on Boot Memory Select (BMS) signals. DMS (Data Memory Select) and A13 / A12 addresses.

Decoding

We encode this equation in CUPL language and to simplify the understanding, we work in positive logic. The inversion of signals will be defined during the pin assignment. Here it is easily understood that the ROMCS signal is active when BMS is active, or that DMS is active with an A13/A12 address at "10".

Encoding

Generating the JEDEC file

We encode all the equations with the WINCUPL software. This "old" program is still perfectly suited for PAL/GAL coding. It is free, originally written by ATMEL and is now found in the archives at MICROCHIP. We will use the simulation with WINSIM (supplied with WINCUPL) to check the good behavior of the GAL before programming.

JEDEC generation

The compilation directly produces a JEDEC file, which can be viewed with any text editor.

JEDEC generation

We will not generate one, but two JEDEC files. Indeed, the PAL 20L8 can be replaced by two models of GAL:

  • either a GAL 20V8
  • either a GAL 22V10

These two components have a very close pinout and the same 24-pin case. At the level of the equations and the definition of the pins, there is no difference, we just change a compilation option. Of course the generated JEDEC file will be slightly different, since there are more "fuses" in a GAL 22V10 than in a GAL 20V8.

Programming the GAL

This is the easiest part! Once the JEDEC file is obtained, simply load it into a suitable programmer (For this we use either the TOP 3100 or the TL866CS).

Programmation GAL

It remains only to put the GAL on its socket, in its place in the card A-16917.

Last update of this page: November 10th, 2018

French Tech

DDS

Copyright © 2019 Flipprojets - François & Thierry DAVROUX

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies used primarily to measure the traffic on our pages, or to keep your session information.

These datas are used for technical purposes only and are not intended to serve you with advertisements, nor for targeted canvassing, or SPAM. They will not be exchanged with third-party services and will not be used outside this site.

FLIPPROJETS agrees to respect your privacy, click OK if you understand and accept these conditions, otherwise do not continue browsing and leave this site. OK

Reproduction de PAL pour carte DCS

Pinup
ADSP

Extraction de la PAL

Etude et analyse d'une carte audio DCS et remplacement du PAL par un GAL.

Création d'un GAL de substitution par reverse-engineering.

Présentation

A partir de 1993, Midway (Bally/Williams) a équipé ses flippers d'une carte audio DCS A-16917. Cette carte est construite autour d'un processeur DSP (ADSP-2105) et un PAL (PAL 20L8) est utilisé pour simplifier l'électronique.

Carte DCS

Les PAL sont des composants qui malheureusement, peuvent s'éffacer avec le temps et provoquer ainsi une panne de la carte. Sur la carte A-16917, le PAL est monté sur support ce qui va faciliter son remplacement.

Carte DCS

Le PAL étant protégé, il est impossible de relire son contenu pour pouvoir ensuite le dupliquer, comme on peut le faire avec les EPROM. Le risque d'éffacement est bien réel, puisque ces cartes datent de 1984 et que la durée de rétention annoncée par le fabricant est d'une vingtaine d'années. Le seul moyen pour les préserver, va être d'analyser le fonctionnement du PAL afin d'être en mesure de reprogrammer un composant équivalent.

Analyse

Pour réaliser celle-ci, nous avons utilisé notre banc de test universel. Grâce à lui et au module testeur de composants, nous pouvons piloter à gré toutes les broches du PAL, sans avoir à brancher un seul fil. Inutile de sortir la planche à câbler, on connecte juste notre valise sur un PC :

Analyse PAL

Le PAL est placé sur le support ZIF du testeur de composants :

Analyse PAL

Pour piloter les différentes broches, on se sert du module GENERIC DIP, en choissisant un boitier DIP-24 :

Analyse PAL

Pour identifier rapidement les signaux afféctés sur le PAL, la méthode Post-It collé sur l'écran est très éfficace :

Analyse PAL

Décodage & Encodage

En faisant varier les entrées et en regardant le comportement des sorties, on arrive à établir les régles de fonctionnement du circuit. Bien sûr, on procéde par tatonnements, mais ici l'expérience et la connaissance des composants jouent un rôle primordial. L'intuition et l'expertise permettent d'éviter de tester des combinaisons inutiles.

L'exercice se complique quand certains signaux agissent en tant que bascules, autrement dit en logique "séquentielle" et non plus en logique "combinatoire". C'est le cas ici, car bien que le PAL 20L8 soit de type "simple" (et non "registered" comme les 20R8), il est tout à fait possible d'avoir un comportement complexe, séquencé.

Mais avec un peu de logique et beaucoup de pratique, on s'en sort. Au final, on écrit sur papier les équations logiques et séquentielles.

Décodage

Par exemple, pour le signal ROMCS (ROM Chip Select), on arrive à déterminer assez facilement qu'il dépend des signaux BMS (Boot Memory Select), DMS (Data Memory Select) et des adresses A13/A12.

Décodage

On encode cette équation en langage CUPL et pour simplifier la compréhension, on travaille en logique positive. L'inversion des signaux sera définie lors de l'affectation des broches. Ici on comprend facilement que le signal ROMCS est actif quand BMS est actif, ou que DMS est actif avec une adresse A13/A12 à "10".

Encodage

Génération du fichier JEDEC

On encode l'ensemble des équations avec le logiciel WINCUPL. Ce "vieux" programme est toujours parfaitement adapté pour le codage des PAL/GAL. Il est gratuit, écrit à l'origine par ATMEL on le trouve désormais dans les archives chez MICROCHIP. On utilisera la simulation avec WINSIM (fourni avec WINCUPL) pour vérifier le bon comportement du GAL avant programmation.

Génération JEDEC

La compilation produit directement un fichier JEDEC, que l'on peut visualiser avec n'importe quel éditeur de texte.

Génération JEDEC

On générera non pas un, mais deux fichiers JEDEC. En effet, le PAL 20L8 pourra être remplacé par deux modèles de GAL:

  • soit un GAL 20V8
  • soit un GAL 22V10

Ces deux composants ont un brochage très proche et le même boitier 24 broches. Au niveau des équations et de la définition des broches, il n'y a aucune différence, on change juste une option de compilation. Bien sûr le fichier JEDEC généré sera légérement différent, puisqu'il y a plus de "fusibles" dans un GAL 22V10 que dans un GAL 20V8.

Programmation du GAL

C'est la partie la plus facile ! Une fois le fichier JEDEC obtenu, il suffit de le charger dans un programmateur adéquat (nous utilisons pour cela, soit le TOP 3100, soit le TL866CS).

Programmation GAL

Il ne reste plus qu'a remettre le GAL sur son support, à sa place dans la carte A-16917.

Dernière mise à jour de cette page: 10 Novembre 2018