Study of MA-55 audio boards

Pinup
MA-55

"Simple" audio board for SYSTEM 80

Study and explanation of the functionality of these cards.
This article should be considered as a partial technical reference,
because some informations still remain unknown.

Concept

The MA-55 board is directly derived from the C-18389 used on SYSTEM 1, which it takes over the hardware architecture. Although similar, these cards are actually quite different and not only at the connection level. Indeed, the internal program is not all the same, the reference on the R6530 being R3016-11 for the MA-55 (SYSTEM 80) and R3014-13 (or R3014-13) for the C-18389 (SYSTEM 1).

Cadenced by a simple RC clock, theoretical operating frequency is 853 KHz.

The generation of the sound is performed by a digital-to-analog converter (1408), controlled directly by the CPU (6503) and the RRIOT (6530). In order to facilitate the implementation and reduce the required space for the generation of sounds, a specific macro-langage has been integrated to this card. The principle is to have a standardized waveforms (sine, square, triangle) generator, and then to assemble these sequences in function of needs by setting the PROM parameters (HM7643).

We freely call this macro-langage SGOL (by analogy to PGOL and TGOL languages used in CPU boards of SYSTEM 1 and 80. SGOL being an acronym for Sound Programming Oriented Langage.

Troubleshooting and dump

How to troubleshoot a MA-55 board is not very complicated, provided that the 6530 is not burned. To test the board and this particular component, we have adapted our bench test fixture and added a probe that take place of the 6503. This allows to test the sound PROM, but also very easily make a dump of the contents of the 6530.

Test a Black-Hole (export) sound board:
Bench test

Developments and documentation

Originally, the MA-55 board is intended to work either in normal mode (sound), or in a simplified mode (tone), the selection takes place through the switch S1. The concerned pinballs are: Panthera, Spiderman, Circus, Counterforce, Starrace, James Bond 007, and this information appears clearly in the documentation: MA-55 Mode "tone" had only little interest, will be then abandoned. From the Timeline, it will be no more programmed in the sound PROM. For this Pinball, the documentation had been corrected by simple affixing a sticker "MUST BE OFF": MA-55 This mode is definitively abandoned, documentation had been properly corrected for the following pinball machines (Force II and Pink Panther): MA-55 The MA-55 board will then be re-used for "export" version of the Volcano, the Black-Hole, the Devil's Dare (80A) and Eclipse. The documentation does will only mention settings for advanced cards (MA-216). It should be noted that for these pinballs, the "tone" mode is also no more programmed and switch S1 must stay in the OFF position.

The attract-mode bug

When activated by the S2 switch, the attract mode should, in principle, be triggered any 6 minutes. Internally, this is achieved by a delay of 45 x 6.815.744 loop cycles, i.e. all the 306.708.480 clock cycles. At a 853 KHz frequency, this corresponds to 359 seconds, or 6 minutes.

There is however a bug: when a sound is played (except the attract-mode), the counter is reset to 256 instead of 45. The delay so it passes to 256 x 6.815.744 = 1.744.830.464 cycles, i.e., 2045 seconds, which equates to more than 34 minutes !

At startup, as long as no sound was still played, the attract mode is well triggered any 6 minutes. If it launches a game, at the end, the attract-mode fire 34 minutes later, then resumes to its normal cycle of 6 minutes.

Pinup

Structure of the sound PROM

The sound PROM HM7643 is decoded on the space address from $400 to $7FF.

The CPU board send commands to the sound board using S1, S2, S4, S8 wires. Each command corresponds to the number of sound to play and can take values from 1 to 15. Depending on the position of S1 switch, the corresponding "tone" or "sound" is played.

At the beginning of the PROM, are two tables of addresses, each with 15 entries, one for the "tones", one for the "sounds". At the very beginning, the first input is reserved for the sound of the attract mode (which is also played in test mode). So there:

  • 1 x entry to the sound test or attract-mode
  • 15 x entries for the "tones"
  • 15 x entries for the "sound"

Each entry is a group of 3 quartets, forming a 12-bit address. This address points to a sequence written in the SGOL langage, in this PROM. These addresses are easily readable, because stored in the natural order: MSB first, LSB last. Obviously, the prom HM7643, usable address range is $400 to $7FF.

When a tone or a sound are the same, just make them point to the same address. Unused sounds and tones are pointing the tone in general 1.

Attention: From the Timeline, the 'tones' are no longer used and the space allocated to the table has been reused. Therefore, switch S1 must be set to OFF. If it is positioned on ON, trying then to run map not provided addresses code, resulting in generally its crash.

At the end of the PROM is a reserved space from $7C0 to $7FF. This area is to be used to store customized waveform specific to a game.

Test PROM and external code

Although the SGOL is the privileged language to program the PROM, the designers have planned another possibility. The one to execute portions of 6503 code, stored externally in the PROM HM7643. But this PROM has a 4-bit architecture, it was not possible to code directly in the 6503 (on 8-bit) instructions and they have resorted to a device.

The 8-bit code is encoded on two quartets. In order to be executed, the reconstituted instructions are transferred in RAM from the address $010. Capacity RAM of the 6530 being extremely reduced (64 bytes), the code sequence is limited to 45 bytes (leaving just 3 bytes free for the stack).

Complicating all these sequences are stored in the PROM in reverse order... making it completely unreadable code.

Originally, this feature seems to have been scheduled for a test drive. Indeed, when you press the TEST button, a simple sound is played. But if you put the SPARE PIN to ground, then the program provides control sequence stored at the location of the vectors tone/sound. So, it seems that this was intended to run a test program in a specific PROM.

There is also the possibility of triggering a sequence of code 6503 through a statement SGOL. This was that very rarely used, except on the PINK PANTHER, where on the contrary, this has been done massively.

Pinup

SGOL language

The instructions are coded on 4 bits, there is therefore 16 instructions and they are of two types:

  • those intended for the generation of waveforms (less than 8 codes)
  • control (greater than 8 codes).

Some instructions are followed by also on 4-bit-encoded parameters.
The size of a sequence (instructions + parameters) cannot exceed 256 elements.

Instructions

Instructions 0 to 7

TONE and SOUND
Generate a sound depending of the selected mode.
In "tone" mode (instructions 0 to 7), followed by 2 parameters.
In "sound" mode (instructions 0 to 6), followed by 4 or 6 parameters (for instruction 7).

Instruction 8

NOP
Does strictly nothing.
No parameter.

Instruction 9

BREAK
End a sound which has an infinite length (see instructions 0 to 7).
Without real usage, because a such sound is stopped by a new command
(indeed, seems that it is never used).
No parameter.

Instruction A

STOP
Stop the SUSTAIN mode (see below).
By example, stop a melody when specifics sounds are played.
No parameter.

Instruction B

SUSTAIN
Switch to "sustain" mode, where, it is neccessary to maintain command to continue to play a sound.
In case of stop, then go, the sound restart from where it interrupt.
Used, by example, to play a melody.
No parameter.

Instruction C

PRIORITY
Indicate that the following sound has priority and cannot be interrupt by another.
(by default, a new sound command interrupt the current play).
No parameter.

Instruction D

MODE
Alternate between TONE and SOUND mode.
Allow to play "sounds" in TONE mode and "tones" in SOUND mode.
Attention: in case of SUSTAIN, it revert back to initial mode at each instruction of generation (0 to 7).
No parameter.

Instruction E

REPEAT
Repeat a group of instructions.
Followed by 2 parameters.

Instruction F

END
End of SGOL sequence, finishes generating the sound.
No parameter.

Parameters

Parameters of instruction E

REPEAT
The first parameter indicate the size of the group (number of instructions concerned).
The value is minimized by 1, by example, 2 for a group of 3 instructions.
The second parameter give the number of repeats to do.
Only sound generating instructions (0 to 7) can be included in a block to repeat.

In the special case of, the second parameter is set to zero, the instruction is transformed into:
ASM
Execution of 6503 code.
The code is loaded in RAM (start at $010 address) from the PROM (at $702 address).

Parameters of instructions 0 to 7

The number of parameters and their meaning depend on the mode.

TONE
In this mode, played sounds are of simple musical notes and two parameters are adequate.

The first parameter is combined with the instruction code, to indicate a note to play.
The basic score is given by the instruction code (0 = A, 1 = B, 2 = C, 3 = D, 4 = F, 5 = G, 6 = E, 7 = Pause). Bit 0 of the parameter indicates a sharp while the 1 to 3 bits indicate the octave.

The second parameter give the length of this note.
It can take the values 0 to 11 to encode a round, a white, a black, an eighth, a sixteenth, etc... (duration in ms, 0 = 1260, 1 = 940, 2 = 620, 3 = 460, 4 = 300, 5 = 200, 6 = 140, 7 = 100, 8 = 60, 9 = 40, 10 = 20, 11 = 0). It is also possible to encode an infinite duration with the value 12.

SOUND
Study in progress...

Examples and sources coding

The sources above, are expected to be assembled using the macro-assembler 6502 from Michal Kowalski.

Coding of PROM for PANTHERA

Coding of PROM for PINK PANTHER

Source R6530 R3016-14

Last update of this page: May 30th, 2018

French Tech

DDS

Copyright © 2019 Flipprojets - François & Thierry DAVROUX

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies used primarily to measure the traffic on our pages, or to keep your session information.

These datas are used for technical purposes only and are not intended to serve you with advertisements, nor for targeted canvassing, or SPAM. They will not be exchanged with third-party services and will not be used outside this site.

FLIPPROJETS agrees to respect your privacy, click OK if you understand and accept these conditions, otherwise do not continue browsing and leave this site. OK

Etude des cartes audio MA-55

Pinup
MA-55

Carte audio "simple" pour SYSTEM 80

Etude et explication du fonctionnement de ces cartes.
Cet article doit être considéré comme une référence technique partielle,
car certaines informations deumeurent encore incomplètes.

Concept

La carte MA-55 est directement dérivée de la C-18389 utilisée sur les SYSTEM 1, dont elle reprend l'architecture matérielle. Bien que ressemblantes, ces cartes sont en réalité bien différentes et pas seulement au niveau connectique. En effet, le programme interne n'est pas du tout le même, la référence figurant sur le R6530 étant R3016-11 pour les MA-55 (SYSTEM 80) et R3014-12 (ou R3014-13) pour les C-18389 (SYSTEM 1).

Cadencée par une simple horloge RC, la fréquence théorique de fonctionnement est de 853 KHz.

La génération des sons est réalisée par un convertisseur numérique-analogique (1408), piloté directement par le CPU (6503) et le RRIOT (6530). Afin de faciliter la mise en œuvre et de réduire la place nécessaire à la génération des sons, un macro-langage spécifique a été intégré à cette carte. Le principe étant d'avoir un générateur de formes d'ondes (sinus, carré, triangles) standardisé, puis d'assembler ces séquences en fonction des besoins en paramétrant la PROM de son (HM7643).

Nous avons librement baptisé ce macro-langage SGOL (par analogie aux langages PGOL et TGOL utilisés dans les cartes CPU des SYSTEM 1 et 80. SGOL étant l'acronyme de Sound Programming Oriented Langage.

Dépannage et dump

Le dépannage d'une carte MA-55 n'est pas très compliqué, à condition que le 6530 ne soit pas grillé. Pour tester la carte et ce composant particulier, nous avons adapté notre banc de test et ajouté une sonde venant à la place du 6503. Ceci permet de tester la PROM son, mais aussi de faire très facilement un dump du contenu du 6530.

Test d'une carte audio Black-Hole (export):
Banc de test

Evolutions et documentations

A l'origine, la carte MA-55 est prévue pour fonctionner soit en mode normal (sound), soit dans un mode simplifié (tone), la sélection s'opérant grâce au switch S1. Les flippers concernés sont: Panthera, Spiderman, Circus, Counterforce, Starrace, James Bond 007, et cette information apparaît clairement dans la documentation: MA-55 Le mode "tone" ne présentant que peu d'intérêt, sera ensuite abandonné. A partir du Timeline, il ne sera plus programmé dans la PROM son. Pour ce flipper, la documentation sera corrigée par simple apposition d'un sticker "MUST BE OFF": MA-55 Ce mode étant définitivement abandonné, la documentation sera proprement corrigée pour les flippers suivants (Force II et Pink Panther): MA-55 La carte MA-55 sera ensuite ré-utilisée pour les versions "export" du Volcano, du Black-Hole, du Devil's Dare (80A) ainsi que pour l"Eclipse. La documentation ne fera mention des réglages que pour les cartes évoluées (MA-216). Il faut savoir que pour ces flippers, le mode "tone" n'est également plus programmé et que le switch S1 doit impérativement rester en position OFF.

Bug de l'attract-mode

Lorsque activé par le switch S2, l'attract mode devrait en principe se déclencher toute les 6 minutes. En interne, ceci est réalisé par une boucle de temporisation de 45 x 6.815.744 cycles, soit tout les 306.708.480 cycles d'horloge. A la fréquence de 853 KHz, ceci correspond bien à 359 secondes, soit 6 minutes.

Il y a cependant un bug: lorsqu'un son est joué (sauf celui de l'attract-mode), le compteur est réinitialisé à 256 au lieu de 45. La temporisation passe donc à 256 x 6.815.744 = 1.744.830.464 cycles, soit 2045 secondes, ce qui équivaut à plus de 34 minutes !

Au démarrage, tant qu'aucun son n'a encore été joué, l'attract-mode est bien déclenché toute les 6 minutes. Si on lance une partie, à la fin, l'attract-mode ne se déclenchera que 34 minutes plus tard, puis reprendra son cycle normal de 6 minutes.

Pinup

Structure de la PROM de sons

La PROM de son HM7643 est décodée sur l'espace d'adressage $400 à $7FF.

La carte CPU envoi des commandes à la carte son par les fils S1, S2, S4, S8. Chaque commande correspond au numéro de son à jouer et peut prendre les valeurs de 1 à 15. Selon la position du switch S1, le "tone" ou le "sound" correspondant est joué.

Au début de la PROM, se trouvent deux tables d'adresses, disposant chacune de 15 entrées, l'une pour les "tones", l'autre pour les "sounds". Au tout début, la première entrée est réservée pour le son de l'attract mode (qui est également celui joué en mode test). On a donc:

  • 1 x entrée pour le son test ou attract-mode
  • 15 x entrées pour les "tones"
  • 15 x entrées pour les "sound"

Chaque entrée est un groupe de 3 quartets, formant une adresse sur 12 bits. Cette adresse pointe vers une séquence écrite en langage SGOL, dans la PROM de son. Ces adresses sont facilement lisibles, car stockées dans l'ordre naturel: MSB en premier, LSB en dernier. La plage d'adresses utilisable est bien évidement, celle de la PROM HM7643, soit $400 à $7FF.

Lorsqu'un tone ou un sound sont identiques, il suffit de les faire pointer vers la même adresse. Les tones et sounds inutilisés, pointent en général vers le tone 1.

Attention: A partir du Timeline, les "tones" ne sont plus utilisés et l'espace alloué à la table a été réutilisé. C'est pourquoi, le switch S1 doit impérativement être mis sur OFF. S'il est positionné sur ON, la carte tente alors d'exécuter du code à des adresses non prévues, ce qui entraine généralement son plantage.

A la fin de la PROM se trouve également un espace réservé de $7C0 à $7FF. Cette zone est utilisée pour stocker des formes d'ondes spécifiques à un jeu.

PROM de test et code externe

Bien que le SGOL soit le langage privilégié pour programmer les PROM de son, les concepteurs de cette carte ont prévu une autre possibilité. Celle d'exécuter des portions de code 6503, stockées en externe dans la PROM HM7643. Mais cette PROM ayant une architecture 4 bits, il n'était pas possible de coder directement dedans les instructions 6503 (sur 8 bits) et ils ont eu recours à un artifice.

Le code 8 bits est codé sur deux quartets. Pour pouvoir être exécuté, les instructions reconstituées sont transférées en RAM à partir de l'adresse $010. La capacité RAM du 6530 étant extrêmement réduite (64 octets), la séquence de code est limitée à 45 octets (ce qui laisse juste 3 octets de libre pour la pile).

Pour compliquer le tout, ces séquences sont stockées dans la PROM en ordre inverse... ce qui rend le code totalement illisible.

A l'origine, cette fonctionnalité semble avoir été prévue pour une PROM de test. En effet, lorsque l'on appui sur le bouton TEST, un simple son est émis. Mais si on met la broche SPARE à la masse, alors le programme donne le contrôle à une séquence stockée à l'emplacement des vecteurs tone/sound. Il semble donc que cela était destiné pour éxecuter un programme de test dans une PROM spécifique.

Il existe également la possibilité de déclencher une séquence de code 6503 grâce à une instruction SGOL. Ceci n'a été que très rarement utilisé, sauf sur le PINK PANTHER où au contraire, cela a été fait massivement.

Pinup

Le langage SGOL

Les instructions sont codées sur 4 bits, il n'y a donc que 16 instructions et elles sont de deux types:

  • celles destinées à la genération de formes d'ondes (codes inférieur à 8)
  • celles de contrôle (codes supérieurs à 8).

Certaines instructions sont suivies de paramètres, codés également sur 4 bits.
La taille d'une séquence (instructions + paramètres) ne peut excéder 256 éléments.

Instructions

Instructions 0 à 7

TONE et SOUND
Génération d'un son selon le mode sélectionné.
En mode "tone" (instructions 0 à 7), suivies de 2 paramètres.
En mode "sound" (instructions 0 à 6), suivies de 4 ou 6 paramètres (pour l'instruction 7).

Instruction 8

NOP
Ne fait strictement rien.
Aucun paramètre.

Instruction 9

BREAK
Arrête un son ayant une durée illimité (voir instructions 0 à 7).
Sans utilité réelle, un tel son étant interrompu par une nouvelle commande
(semble en effet, ne jamais être utilisée).
Aucun paramètre.

Instruction A

STOP
Arrête le mode SUSTAIN (voir ci-dessous).
Par exemple, arrête une mélodie lorsque certains sons sont joués.
Aucun paramètre.

Instruction B

SUSTAIN
Passe en mode "sustain" dans lequel, il faut maintenir la commande pour continuer de jouer le son.
En cas d'interruption, puis de rétablissement, le son reprend là où il s'était arrété.
Utilisé par exemple, pour jouer des mélodies.
Aucun paramètre.

Instruction C

PRIORITY
Indique que le son qui suit est prioritaire et n'est pas interruptible par un autre.
(par défaut une nouvelle commande interrompt le son courant).
Aucun paramètre.

Instruction D

MODE
Alterne entre le mode TONE et le mode SOUND.
Permet de jouer des "sounds" en mode TONE et des "tones" en mode SOUND.
Attention: en cas de SUSTAIN, on revient au mode initial à chaque instruction de génération (0 à 7).
Aucun paramètre.

Instruction E

REPEAT
Répétition d'un groupe d'instructions.
Suivie de 2 paramètres.

Instruction F

END
Fin de séquence SGOL, termine la génération du son.
Aucun paramètre.

Paramètres

Paramètres de l'instruction E

REPEAT
Le premier paramètre indique la taille du groupe (nombre d'instructions concernées).
La valeur codée est diminuée de 1, par exemple 2 pour un groupe de 3 instructions.
Le second paramètre donne le nombre de répétitions a éffectuer.
Seules les instructions de génération (0 à 7) peuvent êtres incluses dans un bloc à répéter.

Dans le cas particulier, où le second paramètre est a zéro, l'instruction se transforme alors en:
ASM
Execution de code 6503.
Le code est chargé en RAM (à l'adresse $010) depuis la PROM (à l'adresse $702).

Paramètres des instructions 0 à 7

Le nombre de paramètres et leur signification varient selon le mode.

TONE
Dans ce mode, les sons joués sont de simples notes de musique et deux paramètres sont suffisants.

Le premier paramètre combiné avec le code instruction, indique la note à jouer.
La note de base est donnée par le code instruction (0 = La, 1 = Si, 2 = Do, 3 = Ré, 4 = Fa, 5 = Sol, 6 = Mi, 7 = Pause). Le bit 0 du paramètre indique un dièse tandis que les bits 1 à 3 indiquent l'octave.

Le second paramètre indique la durée de cette note.
Il peut prendre les valeurs 0 à 11 pour coder une ronde, une blanche, une noire, une croche, une double croche, etc... (durée en ms, 0 = 1260, 1 = 940, 2 = 620, 3 = 460, 4 = 300, 5 = 200, 6 = 140, 7 = 100, 8 = 60, 9 = 40, 10 = 20, 11 = 0). Il est également possible de coder une durée infinie avec la valeur 12.

SOUND
En cours d'étude...

Exemples et codes sources

Les sources ci-après, sont prévus pour êtres assemblés avec le macro-assembleur 6502 de Michal Kowalski.

Codage de la PROM du PANTHERA

Codage de la PROM du PINK PANTHER

Source R6530 R3016-14

Dernière mise à jour de cette page: 30 Mai 2018