PIC for auto EDDY sensor board

Pinup
PIC EDDY

Replacement of the PIC

Development of a replacement PIC, for automatic adjustment of proximity sensors.

Reference of the original part: 04-11001

Presentation

On some of their pinball machines, Williams and Bally/Midway used proximity sensors to detect the passage of the balls. Unlike optos switches or sensors, they are able to differentiate the nature of the ball, metal or ceramic. This detectors have been used on:

  • Twilight Zone
  • Red & Ted's Road Show
  • Scared Stiff
  • Star Trek: The New Generation
  • Theatre Of Magic
  • Monster Bash
  • Cirqus Voltaire

Their principle is that of a metal detector: a RLC circuit oscillates at a specific frequency, disturbed by the presence nearby of a metal mass. All are built around a circuit TDA0161, specialized for this function.

Although still a coil, the sensors are often specific on each pinball. They can be in the form of a single component (A-17064, 100 μH coil), a winding (A-16533), or a printed circuit, whose drawing acts as a coil. In the latter case, the size and shape vary according to the need for implantation (A-19235, wide rectangle, A-19237, narrow rectangle, or A-20036, rounded form).

In order for the TDA0161 circuit to work properly, it is essential that its input stage be adapted to the connected sensor. This consists of two capacitors C1 and C2. Since there are different sensors, so there are also multiple boards where the values of C1 and C2 are different.

The output stage must also be adapted to the pinball machine. This is constituted by the capacitor C3. Its role is to extend the pulse duration at the output of the TD0161, but it also reduces the detection threshold. If the ball passes over the sensor too quickly, it may not be detected. In some cases, C3 should not be installed.

Sensitivity adjustment problem

On the TDA0161, a resistor allows to adjust the sensitivity and to set the detection distance.

On the very first boards, a single fixed resistor was mounted and it was impossible to adjust the sensitivity in case of drift. Subsequently, a potentiometer was installed, but again, the setting remained unreliable. One possible improvement was to replace it with a multiturn. This did not, however, dispense with periodic re-adjustment, the detectors being quite sensitive to climatic conditions.

The definitive solution was found with the "AUTO" boards, installed on Cirque Voltaire and Monster Bash. On these boards, the resistor is replaced by a DS1803 double digital potentiometer (one for coarse adjustment, one for fine tuning). This circuit is controlled in I2C by a small Microchip PIC microcontroller, which performs an automatic calibration of the setting, at each start.

PIC replacement

It may happen that PIC 12F508 (reference 04-11001) is burned out and needs to be replaced. Unfortunately, as its content is protected, it is not possible to make a backup copy. So we decided to develop our own version, compatible with all original "AUTO" boards, or reproductions.

Development

The project was totally written in 12-bit Microchip assembler. We used classic tools like MPLAB IDE and MPASM.

PIC Eddy

Validation and controls

To simplify the development, the PIC was deported to an experimental plate, which also allowed to connect in parallel a logic analyzer.

PIC Eddy PIC Eddy

The logic analyzer ensures that the I2C protocol is correctly programmed in the PIC software. Since the 12F508 PICs do not have an integrated hardware I2C interface, the protocol has been fully implemented by hand.

PIC Eddy

The tests are performed with an auto EDDY board A-22149-1.

PIC Eddy

The DS1803 behaves as expected. The setting is fast and accurate.

PIC Eddy

Distribution

This achievement is available in our shop.

Shop

Last update of this page: December 13th, 2018

French Tech

PIC pour carte EDDY sensor auto

Pinup
PIC EDDY

Remplacement du PIC

Développement d'un PIC de remplacement, pour le réglage automatique des détecteurs de proximité.

Référence de la pièce d'origine : 04-11001

Présentation

Sur certains de leurs flippers, Williams et Bally/Midway ont utilisé des capteurs de proximité pour la détection du passage des billes. Contrairement aux switches ou aux capteurs optos, ceux-ci sont capables de différencier la nature de la bille, métallique ou céramique. Ces détecteurs ont été utilisés sur :

  • Twilight Zone
  • Red & Ted's Road Show
  • Scared Stiff
  • Star Trek: The New Generation
  • Theatre Of Magic
  • Monster Bash
  • Cirqus Voltaire

Leur principe est celui d'un détecteur de métaux : un circuit RLC oscille à une fréquence déterminée, pertubé par la présence à proximité d'une masse métallique. Tous sont construit autour d'un circuit TDA0161, spécialisé pour cette fonction.

Bien que constituant toujours une self, les capteurs sont souvent spécifiques sur chaque flipper. Ils peuvent se présenter sous la forme d'un simple composant (A-17064, self de 100 µH), d'un bobinage (A-16533), ou encore d'un circuit imprimé, dont le dessin fait office de self. Dans ce dernier cas, la taille et la forme varient selon les besoins d'implantation (A-19235, rectangle large, A-19237, rectangle étroit, ou encore A-20036, de forme arrondie).

Pour que le circuit TDA0161 fonctionne correctement, il est indispensable que son étage d'entrée soit adapté au capteur raccordé. Celui-ci est constitué de deux condensateurs C1 et C2. Puisqu'il existe différent capteurs, il existe donc aussi de multiples cartes où les valeurs de C1 et C2 sont différentes.

L'étage de sortie doit également être adapté au flipper. Celui-ci est constitué par le condensateur C3. Son rôle est d'allonger la durée d'impulsion en sortie du TD0161, mais de ce fait, il réduit aussi le seuil de détection. Si la bille passe trop rapidement sur le capteur, il arrive qu'elle ne soit pas détectée. Dans certains cas, C3 ne doit donc pas être installé.

Problème du réglage de sensibilité

Sur le TDA0161, une résistance permet de régler la sensibilité et d'afiner la distance de détection.

Sur les toutes premières cartes, une simple résistance fixe était montée et il était impossible de régler la sensibilité en cas de dérive. Par la suite, un potentiomètre à été installé, mais là encore, le réglage restait peu fiable. Une amélioration possible, était de le remplacer par un multitour. Ceci ne dispensait cependant pas de procéder à un re-réglage périodique, les détecteurs étant assez sensibles aux conditions climatiques.

La solution définitive a été trouvée avec les cartes "AUTO", installées sur le Cirqus Voltaire et le Monster Bash. Sur ces cartes, la résistance est remplacée par un double potentiomètre numérique DS1803 (un pour le réglage grossier, un pour le réglage fin). Ce circuit est commandé en I2C par un petit micro-contrôleur PIC Microchip, qui réalise un calibrage automatique du réglage, lors de chaque démarrage.

Remplacement du PIC

Il peut arriver que le PIC 12F508 (référence 04-11001) soit grillé et doive être remplacé. Malheureusement, comme son contenu est protégé, il n'est pas possible d'en faire une copie de sécurité. Nous avons donc décidé de développer notre propre version, compatible avec toutes les cartes "AUTO" originales, ou reproductions.

Développement

Le projet a été totalement écrit en assembleur Microchip 12 bits. Nous avons utilisé les outils classiques comme MPLAB IDE et MPASM.

PIC Eddy

Validation et contrôles

Pour simplifier la mise au point, le PIC a été déporté sur une plaque d'expérimentation, ce qui a aussi permis de brancher un analyseur logique en parallèle.

PIC Eddy PIC Eddy

L'analyseur logique permet de s'assurer que le protocole I2C est correctement programmé dans le software du PIC. Les PIC 12F508 ne disposant pas d'une interface I2C hardware intégrée, le protocole a été totalement implémenté à la main.

PIC Eddy

Les tests sont réalisés avec une carte EDDY auto A-22149-1.

PIC Eddy

Le DS1803 se comporte conformément à ce qui est attendu. Le réglage est rapide et prècis.

PIC Eddy

Distribution

Cette réalisation est disponible dans notre boutique.

Boutique

Dernière mise à jour de cette page: 13 Décembre 2018

French Tech