PGOL Assembler

Pinup
PGOL

Programmation of game's PROM

Toolbox for PGOL language.
Assembler - Disassembler

Gottlieb SYSTEM 1.

Introduction

To test changes to the PROM of the SYSTEM 1 game, we have developed several simple tools. The first is an assembler that allows to generate a binary file (programmable in an EPROM) from a source. The second is a disassembler to decode the original PROM and generate a source file usable with the assembler.

Assembler PGOL

We use at the base a 6502 macro-assembler very well known and free: "6502 MacroAssembler & Simulator" written by Michal Kowalski. Although the SYSTEM 1 processor is not a 6502, we use the possibilities of macros and generation of this programme. 6502 ASM

The assembler PGOL is nothing more than a series of macros stored in an 'include' file.

The program is used in a manner quite classic and generated after compiling a binary image in memory. This code is located in the space $0100 - $04FF of the 6502 and corresponds to the 1 KB of the game's PROM.

This image can then be saved in a file (typically a .bin file) to be used with an EPROM programmer. The generated format is a binary standard with 8-bit data, but the 4 most significant bits will always be '1'.

Installation

Start by downloading the 6502 assembler, either from our website or from 6502.org.

6502 Macro-Assembler
6502 ASM

There is no setup, just uncompress the archive in a dedicated folder. Create also two subfolders "sources" and "includes" in order to place your files.

Download also the macros PGOL and unzip the archive in the "includes" folder.

PGOL Macros
Macros

Use

The program will start simply by clicking on "6502.exe". Once launched, you can open your source, as with any 6502 source. The source files are standard text files, but with the ".65s" instead of the traditional ".txt" extension.

The compilation starts by pressing F7. It is possible to see the code generated in memory by pressing "ALT" + "2".

6502 ASM

To save the generated code, press "CTRL" + "K". Then specify the type of file (binary .65b) and click options to specify the memory range to save ($0100 à $04FF).

6502 ASM

Of course, all this only works if you have a source at hand...

Need a Genie ?
Pinup

Experimental PGOL disassembler

This tool allows to generate a usable source with the compiler above, from an original binary file. Like any disassembler, the generated code is never perfect and must eventually be reviewed before use.

However, it is powerful enough to generate a code that can be used directly for all SYSTEM 1 PROM, except for the SINBAD. Indeed, this one has a bug that the disassembler cannot correct. It is, however, very easy to locate and can be changed it by hand.

The binary input (.bin or .cpu) must be 1024 bytes. To optimize the decoding and get a commented source, it is possible (and recommended)to indicate below the model of pinball.

Name of the binary file (.bin) Model Source (.txt)

Sample of generated source: Cleopatra
Sample

Distribution

This achievement is available for free.

Free

Last update of this page: August 7th, 2018

French Tech

DDS

Copyright © 2019 Flipprojets - François & Thierry DAVROUX

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies used primarily to measure the traffic on our pages, or to keep your session information.

These datas are used for technical purposes only and are not intended to serve you with advertisements, nor for targeted canvassing, or SPAM. They will not be exchanged with third-party services and will not be used outside this site.

FLIPPROJETS agrees to respect your privacy, click OK if you understand and accept these conditions, otherwise do not continue browsing and leave this site. OK

Assembleur PGOL

Pinup
PGOL

Programmation des PROM de jeu

Outillage pour langage PGOL.
Assembleur - Désassembleur

Gottlieb SYSTEM 1.

Introduction

Afin d'expérimenter des modifications pour les PROM de jeu des SYSTEM 1, nous avons développé plusieurs outils simples. Le premier est un assembleur qui permet de générer un fichier binaire (programmable dans une EPROM) à partir d'un source. Le second est un désassembleur pour décoder les PROM originales et générer un fichier source exploitable avec l'assembleur.

Assembleur PGOL

Nous utilisons à la base un macro-assembleur 6502 très connu et gratuit: "6502 MacroAssembler & Simulator" écrit par Michal Kowalski. Bien que le processeur des SYSTEM 1 ne soit pas un 6502, nous pouvons utiliser les possibilités de macros et de génération de ce programme. 6502 ASM

L'assembleur PGOL n'est rien d'autre qu'une série de macro-commandes enregistrées dans un fichier 'include'.

Le programmme s'utilise de manière tout à fait classique et génére après compilation, une image binaire en mémoire. Ce code est localisé dans l'espace $0100 - $04FF du 6502 et correspond aux 1 Ko de la PROM de jeu.

Cette image peut ensuite être sauvegardée dans un fichier (typiquement un .bin) afin d'être utilisée avec un programmateur d'EPROM. Le format généré est un binaire standard avec des données sur 8 bits, mais dont les 4 bits de poids fort seront toujours à "1".

Installation

Commencez par télécharger l'assembleur 6502, soit depuis notre site, soit depuis 6502.org.

6502 Macro-Assembleur
6502 ASM

Il n'y a pas de programme d'installation, il suffit de décompresser l'archive dans un répertoire dédié. Créez également deux sous-répertoires "sources" et "includes" afin de pouvoir y placer vos fichiers.

Télécharger également les macros PGOL et décompressez l'archive dans le répertoire "includes".

Macros PGOL
Macros

Utilisation

Le programme se démarre simplement en cliquant sur "6502.exe". Une fois lancé, vous pouvez ouvrir votre source, comme pour n'importe quel source 6502. Les fichiers sources sont des fichiers texte standard, mais portant l'extension ".65s" au lieu du traditionnel ".txt".

La compilation se lance en appuyant sur F7. Il est possible de voir le code généré en mémoire en appuyant sur "ALT" + "2".

6502 ASM

Pour enregistrer le code généré, appuyer sur "CTRL" + "K". Indiquez alors le type de fichier (binaire .65b) et cliquer sur options pour spécifier la plage mémoire à sauvegarder ($0100 à $04FF).

6502 ASM

Bien sûr, tout ceci ne fonctionne que si vous avez un source sous la main...

Besoin d'un Génie ?
Pinup

Désassembleur PGOL expérimental

Cet outil permet de générer un source utilisable avec le compilateur ci-dessus, à partir d'un fichier binaire original. Comme tout désassembleur, le code généré n'est jamais parfait et doit être éventuellement revu avant utilisation.

Celui-ci est toutefois suffisament performant pour générer un code directement utilisable pour toutes les PROM SYSTEM 1, à l'exeption du SINBAD. En effet, ce dernier comporte un bug que le désassembleur ne peut corriger. Il est cependant très facile à localiser et peut être changé à la main.

Le fichier binaire en entrée (.bin ou .cpu) doit faire 1024 octets. Afin d'optimiser le décodage et obtenir un source commenté, il est possible (et conseillé) d'indiquer ci-dessous le modèle de flipper.

Nom du fichier binaire (.bin) Modèle Source (.txt)

Exemple de source généré: Cleopatra
Exemple

Distribution

Cette réalisation est disponible gratuitement.

Gratuit

Dernière mise à jour de cette page: 7 Août 2018