Programmers

Pinup
Programmers

EPROM, PIC & PAL programmers

Review of the models that we used.

Choice of a programmer

For the owner of an electronic pinball, the programmer of EPROM and PAL is almost as indispensable as the multimeter. But which model is most suitable?

The ideal is to have a cheap model, running on recent PC (USB, autonomous, drivers W7 64bits) and programming a maximum of components.

The say all in a row, we have not yet found this rare bird ! If certain models appear attractive on paper, in reality, it is any different.

Low-cost programmers "made in China"

These programmers found on Ebay are very bad. Indeed, their characteristics are very seducing, but in the end it can be seen that there is no support (no forum, nor address for the manufacturer), that the softs are wads of bugs and absolutely not translated, finally the old circuit programming (2732 example) does not work.

We have tested these models on different PC and in several environments, also can make us an objective judgement on these programmers.

TOP 3100

He does it all (EPROM, PAL/GAL, peak) and is not expensive...

Unfortunately, the associated soft is not at the top, nor frequently updated. It took a long time to get a 64-bit version and the correction of major bugs. There is strictly no support and most of the available components have never been tested (it is for example, absolutely impossible to program a 2732 with this model). The implementation of the PIC is totally exotic with significant gaps, particularly at the level of the choice of options.

What a pity, because electronics seems quite well designed. But in the end, a model to avoid.

TOP3100 TOP3100 TOP3100 TOP3100 TOP3100 TOP3100 TOP3100

Genius G540

Another model that does it all...

This programmer is designed around a SILABS (standard) solution with a simple architecture, what might seem reassuring. Except that the software is a calamity! at least one fault by Word... which again, may be bearable if it worked properly. It is nothing! Impossible once again to program a 2732 while they appear in the list of recognized components.

This model is barely better than the TOP-3100 and will therefore also be avoided.

The software and drivers of the G540 regularly crash under Windows 7/8/10 and make its use unreliable.

G540 G540 G540 G540 G540

Minipro TL866CS

This model is probably the most reliable low-cost, offering a wide range of components. Although it does not have an external power supply, it is still able to program some old components (in Vpp 21 Volts, such as 27C16). On the other hand, do not expect to program those in Vpp 25 Volts (2716, 2732 old).

The programming of the PICs as well as the GALs is perfectly implemented, the configuration of these particular components does not cause any problems. The HEX and JEDEC files are read without error, in full (configuration, identifiers). Note that the CS version no longer has the ICSP connector, but it can be replaced and is not very useful either.

The software is reliable and works perfectly in Windows 7/8/10. Existing for several years, this model is relatively well monitored and updated regularly.

This model is certainly the best choice of low-cost, as long as you do not want to program obsolete components in 25 Volts.

TL866CS TL866CS

PRO models and others programmers

BATRONIX BX48 Batego II

The BX48 II is a German branded programmer. It is easy to program both old and new components. Its voltage range for the programming of components is indeed enormous: it goes from the 25 volts for the old EPROM, up to 1 volt for the most modern memories.

It also includes PICs and LAGs. The presence of a 48-pin ZIF support allows it to address impressive circuits without the need for an adapter.

BATRONIX BX48 II BATRONIX BX48 II

Built around an ALTERA Cyclone III FPGA (EP3CE10), this programmer also uses several specialized circuits. The electronics are complex, compact but reliable.

BATRONIX BX48 II

MCUMALL GQ-4X Willem

Here is a programmer that works properly, and at least, the advertised components have been tested. It also has the advantage to have a responsive support. In short, everything that was missing from the models 'made in China'. No worries for the 2732 with this model. The only criticism that could make him, it does not program the PAL/GAL, neither PIC16F57.

We recommend this model which works satisfactorily.

GQ-4X GQ-4X

KITSRUS K149B

This is a programmer dedicated to PIC that plug on USB port and shipped with a ZIF socket.

It is also possible to program chips that doesn't fit into the ZIF, like the PIC16F57, using the ICSP connector. Several similar models exists (K128, K150, K182) and all are build on the same principle, implemented by Microchip. Indeed, the modern PIC are programmed with a standardised interface and protocol ICSP, that require no more than five wires.

We can program any PIC with the same programmer. This is true even if this one don't has an ICSP connector, because it only need to connect the five wires at the right place. This can be done simply on an experimental plate, as it can be seen on the second picture below.

K149B K149B

Last update of this page: May 30th, 2018

French Tech

Programmateurs

Pinup
Programmateurs

Programmateur EPROM, PIC & PAL

Comparatif des modèles que nous utilisons.

Choix d'un programmateur

Pour le propriétaire d'un flipper électronique, le programmateur d'EPROM et de PAL est presque aussi indispensable que le multimètre. Mais quel modèle est le plus adapté ?

L'idéal est de disposer d'un modèle pas cher, fonctionnant sur PC récent (prise USB, autonome, drivers W7 64bits) et programmant un maximum de composants.

Autant le dire tout de suite, nous n'avons pas encore trouvé cet oiseau rare ! Si certains modèles semblent séduisants sur le papier, dans la réalité, il en va tout autrement.

Programmateurs low-cost "made in China"

Ces programmateurs que l'on trouve sur Ebay sont à déconseiller. En effet, leurs caractéristiques sont très intérressantes, mais au final on s'aperçoit qu'il n'y a aucun support (pas de forum, pas d'adresse pour contacter le fabricant), que les softs sont bourrés de bugs et absolument pas traduits, enfin que la programmation des vieux circuits (2732 par exemple) ne fonctionne pas.

Nous avons testé ces modèles sur différents PC et dans plusieurs environnements, aussi pouvons nous émettre un jugement objectif sur ces programmateurs.

TOP 3100

Il fait tout (EPROM, PAL/GAL, PIC) et ne coûte pas cher...

Malheureusement, le soft associé n'est pas à la hauteur, ni fréquement mis à jour. Il a fallu attendre très longtemps une version 64 bits et la correction de bugs majeurs. Il n'y a strictement aucun support et la plupart des composants disponibles n'ont jamais été testé (il est par exemple totalement impossible de programmer des 2732 avec ce modèle). L'implémentation des PIC est totalement exotique avec des lacunes importantes, notamment au niveau du choix des options.

Dommage, car l'électronique semble assez bien conçue. Mais au final, un modèle à éviter.

TOP3100 TOP3100 TOP3100 TOP3100 TOP3100 TOP3100 TOP3100

Genius G540

Autre modèle qui fait tout...

Ce programmateur est conçu autour d'une solution SILABS (standard) et d'une architecture simple, ce qui pourrait sembler rassurant. Sauf que le soft est une calamité ! il y a une faute par mot... ce qui encore, pourrait être supportable si ce modèle fonctionnait correctement. Il n'en n'est rien ! Impossible encore une fois de programmer des 2732 alors qu'elles figurent dans la liste des composants reconnus.

Ce modèle fait à peine mieux que le TOP-3100 et sera donc aussi à éviter.

Le logiciel et les drivers du G540 se plantent régulièrement sous Windows 7/8/10 et rendent son utilisation peu fiable.

G540 G540 G540 G540 G540

Minipro TL866CS

Ce modèle est probablement le plus fiable des low-cost, offrant un large panel de composants. Bien que ne disposant d'alimentation externe, il est tout de même capable de programmer quelques vieux composants (en Vpp 21 Volts, tels les 27C16). En revanche, n'espérez pas programmer ceux en Vpp 25 Volts (2716, 2732 anciennes).

La programmation des PIC ainsi que celle des GAL est parfaitement implémentée, la configuration de ces composants particuliers ne pose aucun soucis. Les fichiers HEX et JEDEC sont lus sans erreur, en intégralité (configuration, identifiants). A noter que la version CS ne dispose plus du connecteur ICSP, mais que celui-ci peut être remplacé et n'était pas non plus, d'une très grande utilité.

Le logiciel est fiable et fonctionne parfaitement sous Windows 7/8/10. Existant depuis plusieurs années, ce modèle est relativement bien suivi et mis à jour régulièrement.

Ce modèle est certainement le meilleur choix des low-cost, dans la mesure ou l'on ne souhaite pas programmer des composants obsolètes en 25 Volts.

TL866CS TL866CS

Modèles PRO et autres programmateurs

BATRONIX BX48 Batego II

Programmateur de marque Allemande, le BX48 II programme sans difficulté aussi bien les composants anciens que les plus récents. Sa plage de tension pour la programmation des composants est en effet énorme: elle va du 25 volts pour les anciennes EPROM, jusqu'au 1 volt pour les mémoires les plus modernes.

Il programme également les PIC et les GAL. La présence d'un support ZIF 48 broches lui permet d'adresser des circuits imposants, sans besoin d'adapatateur.

BATRONIX BX48 II BATRONIX BX48 II

Construit autour d'un FPGA ALTERA Cyclone III (EP3CE10), ce programmateur fait également appel à plusieurs circuits spécialisés. L'électronique est complexe, compacte, mais fiable.

BATRONIX BX48 II

MCUMALL GQ-4X Willem

Voilà un programmateur qui fonctionne correctement, et au moins, les composants annoncés ont bien été testés. Il a également l'avantage de disposer d'un support (en Anglais) réactif. Bref, tout ce qui manquait aux modèles "made in China". Aucun soucis pour programmer des 2732 avec ce modèle. Le seul reproche que l'on pourrait lui faire, c'est qu'il ne programme pas les PAL/GAL, ni les PIC16F57.

Nous conseillons donc ce modèle qui fonctionne de manière satisfaisante.

GQ-4X GQ-4X

KITSRUS K149

C'est un programmateur dédié aux PIC qui se branche sur port USB et qui dispose d'un support ZIF.

Il est également possible de programmer des circuits qui ne rentrent pas dans le ZIF, par exemple le PIC16F57, grâce au connecteur ICSP. Plusieurs modèles similaires existent (K128, K150, K182) et tous fonctionnent sur le même principe implémenté par Microchip. En effet, les PIC modernes se programment avec une interface et un protocole standardisé ICSP, qui ne requiert pas plus de cinq fils.

On peut ainsi programmer n'importe quel PIC avec le même programmateur. Ceci est vrai, même si celui-ci ne dispose pas de connecteur ICSP, car il suffit de brancher les cinq fils au bon endroit. On peut le faire très simplement avec une plaque d'expérimentation, comme on peut le voir sur la seconde photo ci-dessous.

K149B K149B

Dernière mise à jour de cette page: 30 Mai 2018