The TGOL language

Pinup
SYSTEM 65

SYSTEM 80/80A and game PROM

Presentation of the system and the programming language used is this pinballs.

Introduction

The pinballs of the series 80 and 80 have in common that they all use the same CPU board and the same operating system. The SYSTEM 80A is an evolution of the SYSTEM 80 and is distinguished only by minimal hardware changes and news PROM U2 & U3.

These two PROM "SYSTEM" contain an operating system specialized for pinball machines, a little like a BIOS. It is the heart of the system and provides the basic functions that it will then be on all pinball machines:

  • Initializations (of the 6532 RIOT, of the RAM, etc...)
  • Management of the display (with multiplexing)
  • Management of contacts (analysis and detection)
  • Management of solenoids and sounds (time-based commands)
  • Configuration management (DIP switches)
  • Basic operations (players, plays, credits, tilt, slam)

There is also the test routines, the management of printer service (SYSTEM 80 only) and an API with a language TGOL interpreter.

This standardized operating system was developed by Rockwell for Gottlieb, on a DC (Design Center): Rockwell DC

Each pinball was then customized with a game PROM, in which Gottlieb program specific configuration and game rules.

The game PROM

Presents itself in the form of one or two PROM of 512, 1024 or 2048 bytes and contains two elements:

  1. The settings
  2. Contacts management program (game rules)

The first to specify a number of standardized features, such as the number of players, the functioning of the attract mode, the bonus configuration(modes, associated lamps), the checksums of control.

The second allows programming the behaviour of each detected contact. It is an event-driven programming, each contact triggering a particular sequence written in the TGOL language. You can set the number of points to count, the bonus to assign, the sounds to play, etc... On the same principle there are special routines, the TILT, the beginnings and end of game, and a routine of "polling" regularly called about 6 times per second.

The game PROM were written by Gottlieb on a SYSTEM 65: SYSTEM 65

The TGOL language

To save the memory place and simplify programming, language specific named TGOL (Tom's Game Oriented Language) has been developed. This language designed by Tom DeFotis is the successor of the PGOL (Pinball Game Oriented language) used in the SYSTEM 1. But, apart from the name, these two languages are finally little similarities.

The TGOL is a kind of macro-langage, where each instruction is encoded in a single byte. According to needs, they may be followed by one or two parameters (or none). It is thus a highly compact coding and very effective.

To not be limited by language, a special statement allows you to directly run the assembler 6502 code. Thus, that is not feasible in TGOL may still be programmed in assembler.

Limitations and bugs

Because of the use of sequences in assembler, the portability of language is extremely limited. Thus, you cannot use a different CPU than a 6502 (or similar) and can not easily translate a PROM of a SYSTEM 80 to a SYSTEM 80A. Indeed, some calls to the API of the system are absolute addressing and addresses are different between the 80 and the 80A.

TGOL language is originally planned only for PROM 512 or 1024 bytes. This is strongly binding, because to use memories of 2048 bytes should juggle the assembler, the TGOL then loses much of its interest. It is unfortunate that an improved version has not appeared, as it would have been very easy to extend the language in this domain.

Some coarse bugs have never been fixed, as for example the impossibility of an assembler appeal if the instruction is located on a page boundary. There again, it was little difficult to remedy.

Thanks

We wish to thank Allen Edwall for his help, through which we could identify the equipment used at the time for the development of this system.

Last update of this page: May 28th, 2018

French Tech

Le langage TGOL

Pinup
SYSTEM 65

SYSTEM 80/80A et PROM de jeu

Présentation du système et du langage de programmation utilisé dans ces flippers.

Introduction

Les flippers des séries 80 et 80A ont en commun qu'ils utilisent tous la même carte CPU et le même système d'exploitation. Le SYSTEM 80A n'est qu'une évolution du SYSTEM 80 et ne s'en différencie que par des changements hardware minimes et de nouvelles PROM U2 & U3.

Ces deux PROM "SYSTEM" contiennent un système d'exploitation spécialisé pour flippers, un peu comme un BIOS. C'est le coeur du système et il assure les fonctions de base que l'on retrouvera ensuite sur tous les flippers:

  • Initialisations (des RIOT 6532, de la RAM, etc...)
  • Gestion de l'affichage (avec multiplexage)
  • Gestion des contacts (analyse et détection)
  • Gestion des solénoides et des sons (commandes temporisées)
  • Gestion de la configuration (DIP switches)
  • Fonctionnement de base (joueurs, parties, crédits, tilt, slam)

On y trouve également les routines de test, la gestion de l'imprimante de service (SYSTEM 80 uniquement) ainsi qu'une API avec un interpréteur de langage TGOL.

Ce système d'exploitation standardisé à été développé par Rockwell pour Gottlieb, sur un DC (Design Center): Rockwell DC

Chaque flipper était ensuite personnalisé avec une PROM de jeu, dans laquelle Gottlieb programmait une configuration et des régles de jeu spécifiques.

La PROM de jeu

Se présente sous la forme d'une ou deux PROM de 512, 1024 ou 2048 octets et contient deux éléments:

  1. Le paramètrage
  2. Le programme de gestion des contacts (régles de jeu)

Le premier permet de spécifier un certain nombre de caractéristiques standardisées, telles le nombre de joueurs, le fonctionnement de l'attract mode, la configuration des bonus (modes, lampes associées), les checksums de contrôle.

Le second permet de programmer le comportement de chaque contact détecté. Il s'agit d'une programmation événementielle, chaque contact déclenchant une séquence particulière écrite en langage TGOL. On peut ainsi programmer le nombre de points à compter, les bonus à affecter, les sons à jouer, etc... Sur le même principe existent des routines spéciales, pour le TILT, pour les débuts et fin de partie, ainsi qu'une routine de "polling" appelée régulièrement environ 6 fois par seconde.

Les PROM de jeu étaient écrites par Gottlieb sur un SYSTEM 65: SYSTEM 65

Le langage TGOL

Afin d'économiser la place mémoire et de simplifier la programmation, un langage spécifique dénomé TGOL (Tom's Game Oriented Language) a été developpé. Ce langage conçu par Tom DeFotis est le successeur du PGOL (Pinball Game Oriented language) utilisé dans les SYSTEM 1. Mais, mis à part le nom, ces deux langages ont finalement peu de ressemblances.

Le TGOL est une sorte de macro-langage, dont chaque instruction est codée sur un seul octet. Selon les besoins, elles peuvent être suivie d'un ou deux paramètres (ou d'aucun). On arrive ainsi à un codage extrémement compact et très éfficace.

Afin de ne pas être limité par le langage, une instruction spéciale permet d'executer directement du code assembleur 6502. Ainsi, ce qui n'est pas faisable en TGOL pourra toujours être programmé en assembleur.

Limitations et bugs

Du fait de l'utilisation de séquences en assembleur, la portabilité du langage se trouve extrémement limitée. Ainsi, on ne pourra pas utiliser un autre CPU qu'un 6502 (ou similaire) et on ne pourra pas non plus porter facilement une PROM d'un SYSTEM 80 à un SYSTEM 80A. En effet, certains appels à l'API du système se font par adressage absolu et les adresses sont différentes entre le 80 et le 80A.

Le langage TGOL n'est prévu à l'origine que pour des PROM de 512 ou 1024 octets. Ceci est fortement contraignant, car pour utiliser des mémoires de 2048 octets il faut jongler avec l'assembleur, le TGOL perd alors beaucoup de son intérêt. Il est dommage qu'une version améliorée ne soit pas apparue, car il aurait été très facile d'étendre les possibilités de ce langage dans ce domaine.

Certains bugs grossiers n'ont jamais été corrigés, comme par exemple l'impossibilité de faire un appel assembleur si l'instruction se trouve sur une frontière de page. Là encore, il n'était guère compliqué d'y remédier.

Remerciements

Nous tenons à remercier Allen Edwall pour son aide, grâce à qui nous avons pu identifier les équipements utilisés à l'époque pour le développement de ce système.

Dernière mise à jour de cette page: 28 Mai 2018