The scores on 7 digits function

Pinup
Function

Extended display of scores

This is a modification that allow on pinballs originaly created for SYSTEM 80, to display scores on 7 digits instead of 6.

Only one true solution

Already there was an attempt to move the pinballs of the series 80 in 7 digits, patching the U2 & U3 PROM of SYSTEM 80, which was not really satisfactory. This "pseudo" 7 digits display could not work properly because he lacked consistency with the content of the game PROM.

The only option for a true 7 digits display, it is to use a SYSTEM 80A, and of course, the corresponding game PROM. The advantage of this solution is that are inherited also the improvements of this system (quick start, new test mode, etc...).

Installation

To convert a SYSTEM 80 pinball in 80A, he must first replace the displays and adapt the wiring (see the differences on Pinwiki).

Displays 7 digits moduls will take the place of those 6-digits, without any need to modify anything (their sizes are identical).

Wiring is the most tedious part because he must remake completely beams, should:

  • Reconnect all signals to corresponding PIN.
  • Add D16 for displays 1 & 3.
  • Add D13 for displays 2 & 4.
  • Add the +5 volts DC power line.

For details, refer to the documentation:
Documentation

The game PROM

To work in SYSTEM 80A, game PROM planned for the SYSTEM 80 must be first converted. Then just install the new PROM on the CPU SYSTEM 80A board.

The conversion of a game PROM from one system to the other is not an easy operation and must take into account constraints. Without any documentation, or information, we did it however after several months, for certain models... including the Black Hole.

SYSTEM 80A+

With the translation in SYSTEM 80A, some features are different or no longer exist, for example:

  • Animation of the attract mode is completely different.
  • Missing of the player numbers lamps.

The SYSTEM 80A has also a non-apparent bug, at the level of the 7 digits display and affecting all models of this series. This bug prevents the inter-ball animation (brief display of the high score between each ball/player) programmed on the Black Hole or Haunted House. This animation was not implemented on the pinballs of the 80A series.

We have corrected this bug and restored the original animations of the SYSTEM 80 (including attract-mode) in a new SYSTEM 80A+ PROM. To work properly, the converted game PROM must use this new system. The command of the lamps of the tables on the other hand, is not included in this version.

On our pinball machines, installation is very simple since we integrate the whole (SYSTEM + game PROM) in a single PROM.

Pinball machines concerned

Because of the lack of control of players lamps, conversion to 7 digits is adapted to the latest models of the 80 series, for which the backglass does not have these numbers (Mars, Pink Panther, Volcano, Black Hole, Haunted House, Eclipse).

The Black Hole was the first to be converted to 7 digits, then we have achieved the same operation on Haunted House and Mars God of War. The modification to the Panthera will remain at the laboratory stage.

7 Digits
Used in our creations:
Black Hole Haunted House Mars Panthera

Distribution

This achievement is available on demand, contact us for more informations.

Sur demande

Particularities:

The converted ROMs to SYSTEM 80A only works with our unique PROM adapter.
Consult the distribution conditions for this assembly.

Last update of this page: August 8th, 2018

La fonction scores sur 7 chiffres

Pinup
Fonction

Affichage étendu des scores

C'est une modification qui permet sur des flippers conçus à l'origine en SYSTEM 80, d'afficher des scores sur 7 chiffres au lieu de 6.

Une seule solution viable

Il y a déjà eu une tentative pour passer les flippers de la série 80 en 7 chiffres, en patchant les PROM U2 & U3 du SYSTEM 80, solution qui n'était pas réellement satisfaisante. Ce "pseudo" affichage en 7 chiffres ne pouvait fonctionner correctement car il manquait de cohérence par rapport au contenu de la PROM de jeu.

La seule solution valable pour avoir un vrai affichage en 7 chiffres, c'est d'utiliser un SYSTEM 80A avec bien sûr, la PROM de jeu correspondante. L'avantage de cette solution, c'est qu'on hérite également des améliorations de ce système (démarrage rapide, nouveau mode test, etc...).

Installation

Pour convertir un flipper SYSTEM 80 en 80A, il faut d'abord remplacer les afficheurs et adapter le câblage (voir les différences sur Pinwiki).

Les modules afficheurs 7 chiffres prendront la place de ceux à 6 chiffres, sans qu'il soit besoin de modifier quoi que ce soit (leurs tailles sont identiques).

Le câblage est la partie la plus fastidieuse car il faut refaire complétement les faisceaux, on doit:

  • Reporter tous les signaux vers broches correspondantes.
  • Ajouter le signal D16 pour les afficheurs 1 & 3
  • Ajouter le signal D13 pour les afficheurs 2 & 4.
  • Ajouter l'alimentation +5 volts continu.

Pour les détails, se reporter à la documentation:
Documentation

La PROM de jeu

Pour fonctionner en SYSTEM 80A, les PROM de jeu prévues pour le SYSTEM 80 doivent d'abord êtres converties. Il suffit ensuite d'installer la nouvelle PROM sur la carte CPU SYSTEM 80A.

La conversion d'une PROM de jeu d'un système à l'autre n'est pas une opération aisée et doit tenir compte de certaines contraintes. Sans aucune documentation, ni information, nous y sommes cependant parvenus au bout de plusieurs mois, pour certains modèles... dont le Black Hole.

SYSTEM 80A+

Avec le passage en SYSTEM 80A, certaines fonctionnalités sont différentes ou n'existent plus, par exemple:

  • Animation de l'attract mode totalement différente.
  • Absence des lampes des tableaux.

Le SYSTEM 80A comporte aussi un bug non apparent, au niveau de l'affichage en 7 chiffres et affectant tous les modèles de cette série. Ce bug empêche l'animation inter-bille (bref affichage du high score entre chaque bille/joueur) programmée sur le Black Hole ou sur le Haunted House . Cette animation n'a pas été reprise sur les flippers de la série 80A.

Nous avons corrigé ce bug et rétabli les animations originales des SYSTEM 80 (attract-mode y compris) dans une nouvelle PROM SYSTEM 80A+. Pour fonctionner correctement, les PROM de jeu converties doivent utiliser ce nouveau système. La commande des lampes des tableaux en revanche, n'est pas reprise dans cette version.

Sur nos flippers, l'installation est très simple puisque nous intégrons tout l'ensemble (SYSTEM + PROM jeu) dans une PROM unique.

Flippers concernés

Du fait de l'absence de la commande des lampes des tableaux, la conversion en 7 chiffres n'est adaptée que pour les derniers modèles de la série 80, pour lesquels la backglass ne comporte pas ces numéros (Mars, Pink Panther, Volcano, Black Hole, Haunted House, Eclipse).

Le Black Hole a été le premier a être converti en 7 chiffres, puis nous avons réalisé la même opération sur Haunted House et Mars God of War. La modification pour le Panthera reste au stade du laboratoire.

7 Chiffres
Utilisé dans nos réalisations:
Black Hole Haunted House Mars Panthera

Distribution

Cette réalisation est disponible sur demande, nous contacter pour plus d'informations.

On demand

Particularités :

Les ROMs converties en SYSTEM 80A ne fontionnent qu'avec notre adaptateur PROM unique.
Consultez les conditions de distribution relatives à ce montage.

Dernière mise à jour de cette page: 8 Août 2018