New Generation - Bench test fixture

Pinup
Bench test

Troubleshooting of electronics boards

Universal bench, for an easy diagnosis
of processor's based systems

All brands of pinballs
(Gottlieb, Bally, ... and many more).

Introduction

Having discovered a similar project for troubleshooting arcade, we investigated the possibility of reusing the hardware part. It would have been foolish indeed to redo everything, especially as the hardware interface is not very complicated.

We therefore freely inspired, in first time, from this project. Subsequently, this first interface does not give full satisfaction, we decided to create ours.

If the hardware is similar (a few details), the software and the concept, however, are totally different.

Presentation

The project has two distinct components:

The main idea is to use standard elements, such a laptop and an Arduino module to create a universal test bench (or almost). The common probe, built from Arduino, integrates all the hardware management functions and communicates via a standard interface (USB) with a laptop. The software installed on the PC, is very easy to use and has a user-friendly graphical interface.

This concept allows to easily implement multiple types of processors, such as the 6502 and 6800 often used on pinball machines. Their derivatives, 6503, 6809E, and several others are also implemented. The probe also supports complex operations such calculations checksums and control of advanced components (RIOT, VIA).

The API (protocol dialogue between the probe and the software on PC), simple and powerful, can be directly controlled from a single terminal (such as that of the Arduino) This also makes debbuging easy.

Distribution

This achievement is currently unavailable, but we are studying the possibility of its dissemination (free or paid) for the future.

A l'étude

Last update of this page: August 17th, 2019

French Tech

DDS

Copyright © 2019 Flipprojets - François & Thierry DAVROUX

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies used primarily to measure the traffic on our pages, or to keep your session information.

These datas are used for technical purposes only and are not intended to serve you with advertisements, nor for targeted canvassing, or SPAM. They will not be exchanged with third-party services and will not be used outside this site.

FLIPPROJETS agrees to respect your privacy, click OK if you understand and accept these conditions, otherwise do not continue browsing and leave this site. OK

Banc de test - Nouvelle Génération

Pinup
Banc test

Dépannage des cartes électroniques

Banc universel, pour un diagnostic facile
des systèmes à base de processeurs.

Toutes marques de flipper
(Gottlieb, Bally, ... et bien d'autres)

Introduction

Ayant découvert un projet similaire pour le dépannage des bornes d'arcade, nous avons étudié la possibilité de ré-utiliser sa partie hardware. Il aurait en effet été idiot de tout refaire, surtout que l'interface matérielle n'est pas très compliquée.

Nous nous sommes donc librement inspirés; dans un premier temps, du projet de Paul Swan. Par la suite, cette première interface ne donnant pas pleinement satisfaction, nous avons décidé de créer la nôtre.

Si le hardware est similaire (à quelques détails près), le logiciel et le concept sont en revanche totalement différents.

Présentation

Ce projet comporte deux volets distincts:

L'idée principale est d'utiliser des éléments standards, tels un PC portable et un module Arduino, pour créer un banc de test universel (ou presque). La sonde commune, construite à partir de l'Arduino, intègre toutes les fonctions de gestion du hardware et communique via une interface standard (USB) avec un PC portable. Le logiciel installé sur le PC, est très simple d'utilisation et dispose d'une interface graphique conviviale.

Ce concept permet d'implémenter facilement plusieurs types de processeurs, tels les 6502 et 6800 souvent utilisés sur les flippers. Leurs dérivés, 6503, 6809E, ainsi que plusieurs autres sont également implémentés. La sonde prend aussi en charge les opérations complexes, tels les calculs de checksums et le contrôle des composants évolués (RIOT, VIA).

L'API (protocole de dialogue entre la sonde et le logiciel sur PC), simple et puissante, peut être directement pilotée depuis un simple terminal (tel celui de l'Arduino) Ceci rend également la mise au point aisée.

Distribution

Cette réalisation est actuellement indisponible, mais nous étudions la possibilité de sa diffusion (gratuite ou payante) pour le futur.

A l'étude

Dernière mise à jour de cette page: 7 Août 2018