Sound PROM for PINK PANTHER

Pinup
Pink Panther

Audio PROM

For MA-55 soundboard (SYSTEM 80)
Corrected release from bugs
affecting the original PROM.

History

The audio of Pink Panther PROM seems to work fine, however it contains several bugs which one is major.

By a happy combination of circumstances, this bug does not affect an original card. In contrast, on an adapter 6530/6532, the bug leads to a crash when it plays certain sounds. These bugs have been discovered and highlighted, during the study of MA-55 cards and the analysis of the audio PROM of Pink Panther (read the article about this).

At the end of the 1980s, supply CPU 6503 and RRIOT 6530 problem had been solved by the company ManilaMatic (MM Computer), in designing a board of substitution with more conventional circuits.

ManilaMatic soundboard with CPU 6502, RIOT 6532 and EPROM:
Soundboard ManilaMatic

Later, in 2004, Olivier Houssard and Pascal Janin, were manufactured and published an 6530/6532 adapter plans. It used the same principle as the ManilaMatic board for replacing the RRIOT 6530 by a RIOT 6532 + EPROM.

Copied and cloned, found later in improved versions of this adapter trade, some with larger memories.

All these boards have in common, that none work with the Pink Panther and so far, nobody has been able to explain why.

Technical explanations

RRIOT 6530 circuit is a complex component which one of the peculiarities is to integrate a PAL for decoding the addressing plan. The content of this PAL is not readable, ManilaMatic board designers have reproduced this decoding by logical deduction. However, the realized decoding, even if it is fully functional, is not strictly identical to that of the internal PAL.

The PROM of the Pink Panther has a major bug: a programming error causes the processor to execute code to an incorrect address. The sequence to execute is 3B A6 3C, which corresponds to a non official instruction for the 6503. The remainder of the sequence in memory, is the code would normally be executed.

This strange thing had well detected by the emulator VpinMame designers who had then implemented a workaround solution.

In the expected sequence, it is imperative not to modify the contents of A and X registers of the 6503. Sequence 3B A6 3C is actually a quite legal operation for a 6503 and is part of the non-official instructions. It's the statement RLA $3CA6,Y that can change the A registry. Address decoding directed, the behavior is different: to an original board the A register remains unchanged, on a ManilaMatic board the A register is changed. In the latter case, the originally scheduled sequence is disrupted and ends with a crash of the processor.

To correct this problem, could enhance the address decoding for the equivalent of one original of the 6530. But this expensive solution in hardware, is not satisfactory. Indeed, some adapters change the processor for a 6502 and depending on the manufacturer, the "non-official" instruction set is not guaranteed. It cannot be certain that the RLA statement will still work.

The simplest solution and the more effective, is to correct the bug of PROM and let run the originally scheduled sequence.

Installation

Blank PROM HM7643 being untraceable and impractical to be programmed, this component should be mostly replaced by an adapter.

Several models exist, the simplest being equipped with a memory EPROM 2716 (or EEPROM 2816), the contents of HM7643 (1 KB) is then encoded twice in the 2716 (2 KB). Others are equipped with larger capacity memory, containing several PROM audio, selectable by DIP switches. There are also replacement adapters 6530/6532, on which his memory is combined with that of the 6530.

MA-55 soundboard equipped with an 6530/6532 adapter:
Adapter 6530/6532 Adapter 6530/6532

As shown in the first photo, the 6503 CPU is replaced by a connector. It is connected to our test bench that allows complete control of these cards (RAM, ROM, PROM, I/O-Timer).

Corrected audio PROM

In order to remain the most standard possible, we provide a binary base corresponding to the contents of the HM7643 to 1 KB. Free everyone then use this code and save it in the proper manner according to its material. This binary file is available for free download.

Corrected audio PROM for PINK PANTHER:
Download

Distribution

Cette réalisation est disponible gratuitement.

Gratuit

Conditions of use

Any use outside the private framework must include reference to the origin of this program (for example: PINK PANTHER 'corrected version Flipprojets').

Last update of this page: August 7th, 2018

French Tech

DDS

Copyright © 2019 Flipprojets - François & Thierry DAVROUX

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies used primarily to measure the traffic on our pages, or to keep your session information.

These datas are used for technical purposes only and are not intended to serve you with advertisements, nor for targeted canvassing, or SPAM. They will not be exchanged with third-party services and will not be used outside this site.

FLIPPROJETS agrees to respect your privacy, click OK if you understand and accept these conditions, otherwise do not continue browsing and leave this site. OK

PROM de son pour PINK PANTHER

Pinup
Pink Panther

PROM audio

Pour carte son MA-55 (SYSTEM 80)
Version corrigée des bugs
affectant la PROM originale.

Historique

La PROM audio du Pink Panther semble fonctionner correctement, pourtant elle comporte plusieurs bugs dont l'un est majeur.

Par un heureux concours de circonstances, ce bug n'affecte pas une carte originale. En revanche, sur un adaptateur 6530/6532, le bug conduit au plantage de la carte lorsqu'elle joue certain sons. Ces bugs ont été découverts et mis en évidence, lors de l'étude des cartes MA-55 et de l'analyse de la PROM audio du Pink Panther (voir l'article à ce sujet).

A la fin des années 1980, le problème d'approvisionnement en CPU 6503 et RRIOT 6530 avait été résolu par la société ManilaMatic (MM Computer), en concevant une carte de substitution avec des circuits plus conventionnels.

Carte ManilaMatic comportant un CPU 6502, un RIOT 6532 et une EPROM:
Carte audio ManilaMatic

Plus tard, en 2004, Olivier Houssard et Pascal Janin, ont fabriqué et publié les plans d'un adaptateur 6530/6532. Celui-ci utilisait le même principe que la carte ManilaMatic pour le remplacement du RRIOT 6530 par un RIOT 6532 + EPROM.

Copié et cloné, on trouvera par la suite dans le commerce des versions améliorées de cet adaptateur, certaines comportant des mémoires de capacité plus importante.

Toutes ces cartes ont en commun, qu'aucune ne fonctionne avec le Pink Panther et jusqu'à présent, personne n'a été capable d'expliquer pourquoi.

Explications techniques

Le circuit RRIOT 6530 est un composant complexe dont l'une des particularités est d'intégrer une PAL de décodage du plan d'adressage. Le contenu de cette PAL n'étant pas lisible, les concepteurs de la carte ManilaMatic ont reproduit ce décodage par déduction logique. Toutefois, le décodage réalisé, même s'il est parfaitement fonctionnel, n'est pas strictement identique à celui de la PAL interne.

La PROM du Pink Panther comporte un bug majeur: une erreur de programmation conduit le processeur à exécuter du code à une adresse érronée. La séquence à executer est 3B A6 3C, ce qui ne correspond à aucune instruction officielle du 6503. La suite de la séquence en mémoire, correspond au code devant normalement être executé.

Cette bizarerrie avait bien été détectée par les concepteurs de l'émulateur VpinMame qui avaient alors mis en place une solution de contournement.

Dans la séquence prévue, il est impératif de ne pas modifier le contenu des registres A et X du 6503. La séquence 3B A6 3C est en réalité une opération tout à fait légale pour un 6503 et fait partie des instructions non officielles. Il s'agit de l'instruction RLA $3CA6,Y dont le résultat peut modifier le registre A. Selon le décodage d'adresse réalisé, le comportement est différent: sur une carte originale le registre A reste inchangé, sur une carte ManilaMatic le registre A est modifié. Dans ce dernier cas, la séquence initialement prévue est perturbée et se termine par un crash du processeur.

Pour corriger ce problème, on pourrait améliorer le décodage d'adresse pour obtenir l'équivalent de celui original du 6530. Mais cette solution coûteuse en hardware, n'est pas satisfaisante. En effet, certains adaptateurs changent le processeur pour un 6502 et selon les constructeurs, le jeu d'instruction "non officielles" n'est pas garantie. On ne peut donc être certain que l'instruction RLA fonctionnera toujours.

La solution la plus simple et la plus éfficace, consiste à corriger le bug de la PROM et lui faire executer la séquence initialement prévue.

Installation

Les PROM vierges HM7643 étant introuvables et peu pratiques à programmer, ce composant devra la plupart du temps être remplacé par un adaptateur.

Plusieurs modèles existent, le plus simple étant équipé d'une mémoire EPROM 2716 (ou EEPROM 2816), le contenu de la HM7643 (1 Ko) est alors codé deux fois dans la 2716 (2 Ko). D'autres sont équipés avec des mémoires de capacité plus importante, contenant plusieurs PROM audio, sélectionnables par DIP switches. Il existe également des adaptateurs de remplacement 6530/6532, sur lesquels la mémoire son est combinée avec celle du 6530.

Carte MA-55 équipée d'un adaptateur 6530/6532:
Adaptateur 6530/6532 Adaptateur 6530/6532

Comme on peut le voir sur la première photo, le CPU 6503 est remplacé par un connecteur. Celui-ci est relié à notre banc de test qui permet un contrôle complet de ces cartes (RAM, ROM, PROM, I/O, Timer).

PROM audio corrigée

Afin de rester le plus standard possible, nous fournissons un binaire de base correspondant au contenu de la HM7643 sur 1 Ko. Libre à chacun ensuite d'utiliser ce code et de l'enregistrer de la façon adéquate en fonction de son matériel. Ce fichier binaire est disponible gratuitement en téléchargement.

PROM audio corrigée du PINK PANTHER:
Télécharger

Distribution

Cette réalisation est disponible gratuitement.

Gratuit

Conditions d'utilisation

Toute utilisation en dehors du cadre privé devra obligatoirement faire mention de l'origine de ce programme (par exemple: PINK PANTHER "version corrigée Flipprojets").

Dernière mise à jour de cette page: 7 Août 2018