History of audio boards

Pinup
Carte son

Evolution of sound cards

We present here a chronological inventory of different sound cards used on the SYSTEM 80, 80A and 80B.

These boards have undergone many changes over time and there are many variations, of which some were used in video games.

MA-55

It is the base used in the first SYSTEM 80. It is derived from the SYSTEM 1 multi-mode board which it architecture based on 6503 (CPU) and 6530 (RRIOT).

MA-55

The MA-55 is used in the SYSTEM 80 pinball machines:

  • Panthera (#652)
  • Spiderman (#653)
  • Circus (#654)
  • CounterForce (#656)
  • StarRace (#657)
  • James Bond 007 (#658)
  • Time Line (#659)
  • Force II (#661)
  • Pink Panther (#664)

Next produced pinballs will be equipped with advanced board MA-216 (see below). However, for reasons of cost and for stocks, the MA-55 will be re-used later for some pinball machines, mainly in "export" versions:

  • Volcano (#667) "export" version
  • Black Hole (#668) "export" version
  • Devil's Dare (#670) "export" version
  • Eclipse (#671)
This board was the subject of a comprehensive study.

MA-216

New architecture based on 6502 (CPU) and 6532 (RIOT) for this adapter that is used in the latest models of the 80 series. Appearance of speech synthesis, achieved by a VOTRAX SC-01 (phonem synthesis) circuit and use of a LM379S amplifier powered 30 volts.

A prototype version was first made but never reached the production stage. Implementation of the components of this board is completely different from the models of series that will follow. Although the architecture appears to be almost identical, but there is a difference because the EPROM of the prototype will not work on boards of production. No pinball was equipped with this card, "samples" versions of Mars received standards boards.

MA-216 prototype MA-216 prototype

Thanks to Jean-René Karr for the pictures.

The MA-216 series is subject of many modifications and adaptations. It knows the existence of at least 3 versions of printed circuits (B-20887-x) in addition to the prototype, the firsts with various bugs.

MA-216

The MA-216 is used in the SYSTEM 80 pinball machines:

  • Mars (#666)
  • Volcano (#667) US version US and prototype of "export" version
  • Black Hole (#668) US version
  • Haunted House (#669) // without SC-01

The board is then renewed on the SYSTEM 80A:

  • Devil's Dare (#670) US version
  • Rocky (#672)
  • Spirit (#673) // without SC-01
  • Striker (#675)
  • Krull (#676) // without SC-01
  • Q*Bert's Quest (#677)
  • Goin'Nuts (#682) // without SC-01
  • Caveman (#PV810)

For economic reasons, SC-01 (U14) not was implemented on the Haunted House, the Spirit, the Krull and the Goin'Nuts. These pinballs have therefore no voice synthesis, although the card has the complete circuitry.

The MA-216 will be also used in the video game Reactor (#GV100) and Q*Bert (#GV103).

MA-309 and MA-484

To reduce costs, the speech synthesis is abandoned and a first version treated of the MA-216 is produced. It's the MA-309 which has no more SC-01 nor the command circuitry. The board always uses the same printed circuit B-20887 and the LM379S amplifier powered 30 volts.

A second version following shortly after with the replacement of the amplifier by a TDA 2002 powered by 16 Volt. It is the birth of MA-484 with the amplifier now mounted on an additional card called MA-483. Two other versions also having this additional card will follow. It is the MA-486 and 487-MA, used only for video games on the last, the DIP switches will be even no more solded.

These ultimate developments of the MA-216 concern very few models.

MA-309 MA-487

The MA-309 is used in the SYSTEM 80A pinballs:

  • Super Orbit (#680)
  • Royal Flush Deluxe (#681) first models
  • Amazon Hunt (#684) first models

The MA-484 was known to have been used in the latest models of the Royal Flush Deluxe (#681A) and for the video game Mad Planets (#GV102). The MA-486 was used on the latest models of the game Q*Bert (#GV103) and MA-487 on video game Krull (#GV105).

MA-490

For even more savings, MA-216 and derived boards will be replaced by a "new" board. The MA-490 associated with a "piggyback" MA-488 map is no more, or less, than a MA-55 barely improved !!! The additional card Piggyback (MA-488) adds an additional EPROM and takes the place of the 6530 (RRIOT).

MA-490

The MA-490 board will be used on all other models of the 80A series:

  • Amazon Hunt (#684) latest models
  • Rack'Em Up (#685)
  • Ready... Aim... Fire! (#686)
  • Jacks to Open (#687)
  • Touchdown (#688)
  • Alien Star (#689)
  • The Games (#691)
  • El Dorado City of Gold (#692)
  • Ice Fever (#695)

It will also be used on the first SYSTEM 80B:

  • Bounty Hunter (#694)
  • Chicago Triple Play (#696)
  • Tag Team Pinball (#698)

MA-495

For the purposes of video games, a more powerful card is necessary. A new card is designed as early as 1983 and received this time two 6502 CPU. The generation of sounds is entrusted by two AY-3-8913, and voice by a SPO 250. The pre-amplification is done by an LM324 while amplification is now entrusted to an external card. The audio output is separated from all other signals that use them, a-pin connector.

MA-495

This map was never used in pinballs and will only be used in video games such as MACH 3 (#GV109) or Three Stooges (#GV113).

MA-766

A few changes of printed circuit board and the return to a flat connector are sufficient to transform the MA-495 in a MA-766. An option to not install the voice circuit SPO 250 is planned, although this appears to never have been the case. This new card will equip the future SYSTEM 80B products.

MA-766
The associated alim/amplifier board is referenced MA-767.
It uses a LM2002 and also has a flat connector:
MA-767

The MA-766 board will be used on the SYSTEM 80B:

  • Rock (#697)
  • Raven (#702)
  • Hollywood Heat (#703)
  • Rock Encore (#704)
  • Genesis (#705)
  • Spring Break (#706)
  • Gold Wings (#707)
  • Monte Carlo (#708)
  • Arena (#709)

MA-886

From the Victory, the board evolve and get back its pin connector. Again, to reduce costs, the SPO 250 speech synthesis circuit is removed. As a first step, the amplifier card associated with is the MA-767, unchanged with its flat connector.

MA-886

The MA-886 board will be used on the SYSTEM 80B:

  • Victory (#710)
  • Diamond Lady (#711)
  • TX Sector (#712)
  • Robo-War (#714)
  • Excalibur (#715)

Excalibur (#715) receives a new card amplifier MA-1017. Absolutely identical to the MA-767, the only difference is that it has a-pin connector:

MA-1017

This card will be then replaced by MA-1366 on the SYSTEM 3. Absolutely identical except for resistance R8 1 KΩ 2 W, which is replaced by a 330 Ω 1/2 W in order to limit the temperature rise of the map.

MA-886-xxx

On the latest SYSTEM 80B (and the SYSTEM 3 that will follow), the board still undergoes changes. The two AY-3-8913 disappear and an additional card MA-1033 is added, with a Yamaha YM2151 circuit, a DAC3014 and an LM324. These cards are stamped MA 886-xxx where xxx is the model of the pinball. All use the amplifier MA-1017 board (or MA-1366 on SYSTEM 3).

MA-886-xxx MA-1033

The MA-886-xxx board will be used on the SYSTEM 80B:

  • Big House (#713)
  • Bad Girls (#717)
  • Hot Shot (#718)
  • Bone Buster (#719)
  • Night Moves (#C101)

Bone Buster is equipped with two sound cards, one is simplified (MA-886-719A). On this map, the second CPU 6502 is removed and all the associated circuitry.

MA-886-719A

The additional MA-1033 board will be also produced under reference MA-1294.

MA-1294

Last update of this page: May 30th, 2018

Historique des cartes audio

Pinup
Carte son

Evolution des cartes audio

Nous essayons de présenter ici un inventaire chronologique des différentes cartes audio utilisées sur les SYSTEM 80, 80A et 80B.

Ces cartes ont fait l'objet de nombreuses modifications au cours du temps et il en existe de nombreuses variantes, dont certaines étaient utilisées dans les jeux vidéo.

MA-55

C'est la carte de base utilisée dans les premiers SYSTEM 80. Elle est dérivée de la carte multimodes des SYSTEM 1 dont elle reprend l'architecture à base de 6503 (CPU) et de 6530 (RRIOT).

MA-55

La MA-55 est utilisée dans les flippers SYSTEM 80:

  • Panthera (#652)
  • Spiderman (#653)
  • Circus (#654)
  • CounterForce (#656)
  • StarRace (#657)
  • James Bond 007 (#658)
  • Time Line (#659)
  • Force II (#661)
  • Pink Panther (#664)

Les flippers produits ensuite seront équipés de la carte évoluée MA-216 (voir ci-après). Toutefois, pour des raisons de coûts et pour écouler les stocks, la MA-55 sera ré-utilisée ultérieurement pour quelques flippers, principalement en versions "export":

  • Volcano (#667) version "export"
  • Black Hole (#668) version "export"
  • Devil's Dare (#670) version "export"
  • Eclipse (#671)
Cette carte a fait l'objet d'une étude approfondie.

MA-216

Nouvelle architecture à base de 6502 (CPU) et 6532 (RIOT) pour cette carte qui est utilisée dans les derniers modèles de la série 80. Apparition de la synthèse vocale, réalisée grâce à un circuit VOTRAX SC-01 (synthèse par phonèmes) et utilisation d'un ampli LM379S alimenté en 30 volts.

Une version prototype a d'abord été réalisée mais n'a jamais atteint le stade de la production. L'implantation des composants de cette carte est totalement différente des modèles de série qui vont suivre. Bien que l'architecture semble quasiment identique, il y a pourtant une différence car les EPROM du prototype ne fonctionnent pas sur les cartes de production. Aucun flipper n'a été équipé de cette carte, les versions "samples" du Mars ont reçu des cartes standards.

MA-216 prototype MA-216 prototype

Merci à Jean-René Karr pour la fourniture de ces photos.

La MA-216 de série à fait l'objet de nombreuses modifications et adaptations. On connait l'existence d'au moins 3 circuits imprimés (B-20887-x) différents en plus de celui du prototype, les premières versions souffrant de divers bugs.

MA-216

La MA-216 est utilisée dans les flippers SYSTEM 80:

  • Mars (#666)
  • Volcano (#667) version US et prototype de la version "export"
  • Black Hole (#668) version US
  • Haunted House (#669) // sans SC-01

La carte est ensuite reconduite sur les SYSTEM 80A:

  • Devil's Dare (#670) version US
  • Rocky (#672)
  • Spirit (#673) // sans SC-01
  • Striker (#675)
  • Krull (#676) // sans SC-01
  • Q*Bert's Quest (#677)
  • Goin'Nuts (#682) // sans SC-01
  • Caveman (#PV810)

Pour des raisons économiques, le SC-01 (U14) n'a pas été implanté sur le Haunted House, le Spirit, le Krull et le Goin'Nuts. Ces flippers n'ont donc pas de synthèse vocale, bien que la carte dispose de la circuitrie compléte.

La MA-216 sera également utilisée dans les jeux vidéo Reactor (#GV100) et Q*Bert (#GV103).

MA-309 et MA-484

Afin de réduire les coûts, la synthèse vocale est abandonnée et une première version épurée de la MA-216 est produite. Il s'agit de la MA-309 qui ne dispose plus ni du SC-01, ni de la circuitrie de commande. La carte utilise toujours le même circuit imprimé B-20887 et l'ampli LM379S alimenté en 30 volts.

Une seconde version suit peu de temps après avec le remplacement de l'ampli par un TDA 2002 alimenté en 16 volts. C'est la naissance de la MA-484 avec l'ampli désormais monté sur une carte additionnelle dénommée MA-483. Deux autres versions également dotées de cette carte additionnelle suivront. Il s'agit des MA-486 et MA-487, utilisées uniquement pour les jeux vidéos où sur la dernière, les DIP switches ne seront même plus montés.

Ces évolutions ultimes de la MA-216 ne concerneront que très peu de modèles.

MA-309 MA-487

La MA-309 est utilisée dans les flippers SYSTEM 80A:

  • Super Orbit (#680)
  • Royal Flush Deluxe (#681) premiers modèles
  • Amazon Hunt (#684) premiers modèles

La MA-484 n'a semble-t-il été utilisée que dans les derniers modèles du Royal Flush Deluxe (#681A) et pour le jeu vidéo Mad Planets (#GV102). La MA-486 n'a été utilisée que sur les derniers modèles du jeu video Q*Bert (#GV103) et la MA-487 sur le jeu vidéo Krull (#GV105).

MA-490

Pour faire encore plus d'économies, les cartes MA-216 et dérivées vont être remplacées par une "nouvelle" carte. La MA-490 associée à une carte "piggyback" MA-488 n'est ni plus, ni moins, qu'une MA-55 à peine améliorée !!! La carte additionnelle Piggyback (MA-488) ajoute une EPROM supplémentaire et prend la place du 6530 (RRIOT).

MA-490

La carte MA-490 sera utilisée sur tous les autres modèles de la série 80A:

  • Amazon Hunt (#684) derniers modèles
  • Rack'Em Up (#685)
  • Ready... Aim... Fire! (#686)
  • Jacks to Open (#687)
  • Touchdown (#688)
  • Alien Star (#689)
  • The Games (#691)
  • El Dorado City of Gold (#692)
  • Ice Fever (#695)

Elle sera également utilisée sur les premiers SYSTEM 80B:

  • Bounty Hunter (#694)
  • Chicago Triple Play (#696)
  • Tag Team Pinball (#698)

MA-495

Pour les besoins des jeux vidéo, une carte plus performante est nécessaire. Une nouvelle carte est conçue dès 1983 et reçoit cette fois-ci deux CPU 6502. La génération des sons est confiée à deux AY-3-8913, celle de la voix à un SPO 250. La pré-amplification est réalisée par un LM324 tandis que l'amplification est désormais confiée à une carte externe. La sortie audio est séparée des autres signaux qui utilisent eux, un connecteur à broches.

MA-495

Cette carte ne sera jamais utilisé dans les flippers et servira uniquement dans les jeux vidéo comme MACH 3 (#GV109) ou Three Stooges (#GV113).

MA-766

Quelques modifications de circuit imprimé et le retour à un connecteur plat suffisent à transformer la MA-495 en MA-766. Une option pour ne pas installer le circuit de synthèse vocale SPO 250 est prévue, bien que cela semble ne jamais avoir été le cas. Cette nouvelle carte équipera les SYSTEM 80B à venir.

MA-766
La carte alim/amplificateur associée est référencée MA-767.
Elle utilise un LM2002 et posséde aussi un connecteur plat:
MA-767

La carte MA-766 sera utilisée sur les SYSTEM 80B:

  • Rock (#697)
  • Raven (#702)
  • Hollywood Heat (#703)
  • Rock Encore (#704)
  • Genesis (#705)
  • Spring Break (#706)
  • Gold Wings (#707)
  • Monte Carlo (#708)
  • Arena (#709)

MA-886

A partir du Victory, la carte évolue et retrouve son connecteur à broches. De nouveau, pour réduire les coûts, le circuit de synthèse vocale SPO 250 est supprimé. Dans un premier temps, la carte amplificateur associée reste la MA-767, inchangée avec son connecteur plat.

MA-886

La carte MA-886 sera utilisée sur les SYSTEM 80B:

  • Victory (#710)
  • Diamond Lady (#711)
  • TX Sector (#712)
  • Robo-War (#714)
  • Excalibur (#715)

L'Excalibur (#715) reçoit une nouvelle carte amplificateur MA-1017. Absolument identique à la MA-767, la seule différence est qu'elle possède un connecteur à broches:

MA-1017

Cette carte sera ensuite remplacée par la MA-1366 sur les SYSTEM 3. Absolument identique, hormis la résistance R8 de 1 KΩ 2 W, qui est remplacée par une 330 Ω 1/2 W afin de limiter l'échauffement de la carte.

MA-886-xxx

Sur les derniers SYSTEM 80B (et sur les SYSTEM 3 qui vont suivre), la carte subit encore des modifications. Les deux AY-3-8913 disparaissent et une carte additionnelle MA-1033 est ajoutée, comportant un circuit Yamaha YM2151, un DAC3014 et un LM324. Ces cartes sont estampillées MA-886-xxx où xxx est le modèle du flipper. Toutes utilisent la carte amplificateur MA-1017 (ou MA-1366 sur les SYSTEM 3).

MA-886-xxx MA-1033

La carte MA-886-xxx sera utilisée sur les SYSTEM 80B:

  • Big House (#713)
  • Bad Girls (#717)
  • Hot Shot (#718)
  • Bone Buster (#719)
  • Night Moves (#C101)

Le Bone Buster est équipé de deux cartes audio dont l'une (MA-886-719A) est simplifiée. Sur cette carte, le second CPU 6502 est supprimé ainsi que toute la circuitrie associée.

MA-886-719A

La carte additionnelle MA-1033 sera également produite sous la référence MA-1294.

MA-1294

Dernière mise à jour de cette page: 30 Mai 2018