Phantom Haus

Pinup
Phantom Haus

Slot machine WPC-95

It is not a pinball machine, but a slot machine!

Ultra-rare Williams model
based on WPC-95 system.

Thanks

We would first of all like to thank the following people, for their invaluable help and without whom, this article would probably not have been written:

  • Martin WIEST (proud owner of a Phantom Haus and manager of a German forum)
  • Bill GRUPP (machine code developer)
  • Scott SLOMIANY (project manager)
  • Phantom Haus

History

In 1996, to deal with the declining market for pinball machines and to continue operating its factories, Williams began manufacturing an original slot machine.

This machine, whose name "Phantom Haus" clearly reveals the targeted market, will be mainly intended for the European market and more particularly for Germany. Phantom Haus

It will be classified in the AWP ("Amusement With Price") category, in order to circumvent the laws on gambling. In principle, it saves the player not money, but rather prizes (or tokens).

Designed by adapting the WPC-95 architecture, used at that time for pinball machines, around fifty machines will be produced in total, of which ten will remain reserved for the US market.

Although very promising, the production of the "Phantom Haus" will nevertheless be quickly stopped and will be limited to this first batch. On the European side, most of the machines sent to Berlin will be scrapped and unfortunately only a very small number will remain. On the US side, many Williams employees will seek to acquire this innovative machine in which they had invested heavily. Unfortunately for them, the small number of copies remaining did not satisfy everyone.

One of the reasons that led to the discontinuation of production was that the machine did not comply with German regulations. Indeed, the RTP (Return To Player percentage) which is regulated and regularly controlled, could too easily be adjusted between 70% and 98% (the default value being 74%).

Presentation

The "Phantom Haus" is an imposing machine, packed with features and where there is hardly any unused space. There is also no need for any "general" lighting, since all the lamps (a total of 175 lamps, not counting the flashes!) are controlled by the CPU board.

The glass represents a haunted house where each window is illuminated. The coin mechanism is installed at the top right. We immediately notice the large 7-segment LED display on the left, as well as the presence of a small DOT MATRIX display in the center.

Phantom Haus Phantom Haus

The control panel has many buttons and of course, the classic three reels of a slot machine. On the right, there is a large illuminated roulette wheel as well as the levels of the multiplier.

At startup, the serial number (stored in the SECURITY PIC) is checked and displayed. We immediately notice the unusual size and resolution of this display for a WPC-95 system.

Phantom Haus Phantom Haus

Development team

The people who worked on the project are not unknown, since they are all people who have already been involved in the creation of pinball machines at Williams / Midway. Asked about this, the project manager (Scott SLOMIANY) named the members of his team:

  • Scott SLOMIANY
  • Pete PIATROWSKI
  • Bill GRUPP
  • Armando ZUNIGA
  • Linda DEAL (aka DOANE)

We owe to the latter many other works, such as the backglass / translite of "Demolition Man", "Dr Who", "Cirqus Voltaire" or even "The Champion Pub". She must also be credited with that of the "Phantom Haus" since his signature "L. DEAL" appears at the bottom right, above the copyright 1996 Williams.

Phantom Haus

Note that these are real printed panes and not simple translites (both for the main pane and for that of the panel). Better still, these two panes have a metalization with a mirror effect on certain parts. It is quite luxurious and we are therefore very far from a low-cost realization.

According to Scott SLOMIANY, the ROI (Return On Investment) was very low and much lower than that of competing machines. The furniture is also of very good quality, made of plywood, where others used chipboard (cheaper, but also much less durable).

Bill GRUPP confirmed to us that all Bally/Williams WPCs were programmed in 6809 assembler and that they had spent a lot of time optimizing the code to get the most out of this processor. The first game subsequently developed in 'C' language being "Revenge From Mars".

Phantom Haus

He also allowed us to identify the members of the team in this nice family photo (from top to bottom, and from left to right):

  • Pete PIOTROWSKI - Co-designer of the game
  • Bill GRUPP - Machine Code Developer
  • Scott SLOMIANY - Project Manager
  • Kevin QUINN - Sounds and Music
  • Linda DEAL - Art, Graphics
  • Armando ZUNIGA - Mechanical
  • ??? - If he recognizes himself or if you recognize him, contact us!

US and German versions

Two versions were produced, the first was a prototype designed for the US market and the second was the final version intended for the German market. There are a few small differences between these two versions.

The very first prototype had a particular arrangement of the DMD screen, mounted at the top of the machine and which will then be lowered for more readability. As a result, the main backglass was also not the same, and the one with the roulette did not yet have her final design.

First prototype:
Phantom Haus

Only the German version exists for the European market, but it seems that the machine was planned for seven other countries, as indicated in the declaration of conformity. Eight different codes are mentioned there: 90201 (Germany), 90401 (France), 90701 (Belgium), 91001 (England), 91301 (Holland), 91401 (Italy), 92001 (Spain), 92201 (Switzerland).

Phantom Haus

On the US prototype, the coin mechanism is configured to accept (in addition to tokens) dollars, while the German version uses Deutschmarks. Originally the machine only used two EPROMs on the AV card, which was enough to implement a single language.

The documentation only mentions two S2 and S3 EPROMs: Phantom Haus

On the final version, 4 EPROMs are used on the "Audio video" card in order to have two languages available simultaneously.

US machine with prototype motors control board and 4 EPROMs on the A/V board: Phantom Haus

A language change function will be added on the final version, and the console will be modified. On the prototype, only a round button "Credit X" is present. On the final version, a double square button replaces it, with both the "Credit X" and the change of language. The switch between languages can be done during the game.

Drawing of the console shown in the documentation: Phantom Haus
It is very easy to visually identify the two versions:
Phantom Haus Phantom Haus

Two different sets of backglass were produced, one in English, the other in German. The inscriptions are all translated, both on the main glass and on the console. The button markings are also different on each version.

Phantom Haus

Although several languages are available in the configuration, for the menus and messages displayed on the DMD, only English and German can be chosen for voice messages.

Phantom Haus

The buttons on the control panel are also translated for the German version.

Phantom Haus Phantom Haus

The DOT 128x64 display

The Williams developers have certainly spent a lot of time on this! Indeed, depending on the combinations obtained with the wheels, several video games are then offered and use this plasma display.

It is also used for the configuration menus, which are certainly specific, but ultimately quite similar to those found on the WPC-95. Phantom Haus The first particularity of this display is its dimensions. Its horizontal physical size is half that of 128x32 plasma displays used on other WPC-95s.

Phantom Haus

This ultra-compact display is manufactured either by Babcok (reference GP-064X128-01) or by Cherry.

Just like on other WPC-95, it can display images with multiple levels of brightness (halftones).

Phantom Haus Phantom Haus

The second peculiarity is its vertical resolution. Unlike all displays used on WPC-95, this one has double the lines, 64 instead of 32, which makes it possible to display somewhat more complex graphics.

Phantom Haus

The Visual Audio board (A-20516)

The display is connected to a standard, unmodified "Visual Audio" board. This implies that this board was intended from the outset to drive displays of more than 32 lines, this is not the case with the video board (A-14039) used on the WPC-89 and WPC-S.

Phantom Haus Phantom Haus

However, the "Visual Audio" board has a special feature: the circuits for the serial interface (TL16C450 and MAX239) are installed. This is rare and the only WPC-95 pinball machine where this feature has been used is the NBA-FASTBREAK.

Phantom Haus

The music produced by this board is specific to the "Phantom Haus" and completely new. There has been a real creative work at this level, Williams did not just take old pieces used on pinball machines.

playMusic sample 1 playMusic sample 2 playMusic sample 3

Voices are available in English and German.

playEnglish / German voice sample 1 playEnglish / German voice sample 2

Various sound effects are of course present and everything can be mixed.

playMix with music, vocals and sound effects

The printer output

The serial interface of the "Visual Audio" card is connected to a small separate board, mounted at the bottom, at the front of the machine. You can easily connect a control printer, accessing directly from the front panel.

This panel also gives access to the hatch of the body, located on the right, access to which is still protected by another lock.

The board has a classic DB9 connector and has only a few components. Its role is above all to protect the internal electronics (CPU / driver board) against the connections of unsuitable equipment.

Phantom Haus Phantom Haus

Phantom Haus

Mechanics and internal views

The machine opens from the rear, which gives access to the whole. The electronic boards are mounted on the overhead door. The coin mechanism is located at the top left, so that the tokens fall by gravity.

Phantom Haus Phantom Haus

The coin mechanism sorts between coins and tokens. The accepted coins fall directly into the cash register through two PVC tubes, while the tokens are put in reserve and stored in a transparent tube. To their right and halfway up, we find the block of mechanical rollers.

Phantom Haus

Thoses three wheels are powered by stepper motors, controlled by a specific board. We find here the same principle that was used on the pinball machine "Who Dunnit", the size of the rollers being different, however, as is their mounting system.

Phantom Haus Phantom Haus Phantom Haus

The token distribution system has an overflow.

Phantom Haus Phantom Haus

Three loudspeakers are installed on the front.

Phantom Haus

The glass lamps are mounted on an ABS plate.

Phantom Haus Phantom Haus

Power supply and electronic boards

The power transformer is located at the very bottom of the body. The multi-voltage adapter block is placed nearby.

Phantom Haus

All boards are mounted on the overhead door. The CPU board and the "audio video" board are those standard in the WPC-95 system. On the other hand, the "power driver" board is specific, as is the motor control board.

Phantom Haus Phantom Haus Phantom Haus

Motors control board (A-21342 or A-21037)

Unlike the "Who Dunnit" which has one motor control board, the "Phantom Haus" uses a single board for all three motors.

The documentation refers to two boards: A-21037 and A-21342. Both are designed to drive unipolar motors, the difference being in the control system. The A-21037 uses two signals "clock" and "direction", while the A-21342 uses two signals "A" and "B".

Phantom Haus Phantom Haus

It seems that the A-21037 is a prototype version and the A-21342 is the finalized version. The latter although very similar, has fewer components and remains compatible with the protocol already used on the "Who Dunnit".

In the end, it is indeed the A-21342 which is installed in the machine.

Phantom Haus

The "power driver" board (A-20971)

This board was designed especially for the slot machine and is very different from the boards found on the WPC-95 (or even WPC-S and WPC-89) pinball machines.

Phantom Haus

The characteristics of board A-20971 are:

  • Dual 18 volt power supply - required by the large number of lamps ordered
  • Removed "coin counter" section
  • Removal of the "fliptronic" part - completely unnecessary on a slot machine
  • Lamp array extended to 96 lamps (instead of 64 on pinball machines)
  • Double lamp matrix (a total of 192 lamps maximum)
  • Wide use of ULN2803 - no TIP36C on this board
  • TRIAC section replaced by ULN2803 - for optional meters

The number of rows of the lamp matrix thus goes from 8 to 12:

  • LMP ROW controls the first 8 rows of matrix A
  • DIS2 commands the first 8 rows of matrix B
  • DIS1 controls at the same time, the 4 other lines of the matrix A and the 4 other lines of the matrix B

The coin mechanism

Beside the coin mechanism are installed the two buttons "Collect Token" (SW21) and "Transfert Credit" (SW22), as well as the associated lamps (lamps A132 "Cash Out" and A98 "Transfer Credit").

Phantom Haus

The coin mechanism is a C435 model, which is much more complex than the C220s usually found on pinball machines.

Phantom Haus Phantom Haus

The C435 accepts up to five types of coins (or tokens) and has 4 separate outlets (+ one reject). It is possible to combine it with a more complex sorter (CS4000), but here it is only used in its simplest configuration with the passive sorter.

Phantom Haus Phantom Haus

The coins and tokens are then simply directed to funnels and fall directly into the tubes. The coin mechanism is connected by a 21 pin connector to the A-21245 "Coin Door" board.

Phantom Haus Phantom Haus

The box at the bottom of the machine has three compartments. The first receives the coins coming out of the paths A and D, the second those coming out of the path B, finally the third receives the tokens which overflow from the overflow (and which leave the path C).

Tokens

The legislation does not allow the redistribution of money, the machine was originally designed to give only tokens for replay.

The coin acceptor can learn to recognize any token model. In practice, those used in Germany were of a type well known from casinos ("Weiterspiel Marke" - brass - 14.6 gr - & Oslash; 28.5 mm).

Phantom Haus

Williams has also produced a series of tokens bearing the image of this machine.

Phantom Haus

Two keys are mounted on the front, just above the payout bin. The one on the right activates the configuration menu which is accessible without having to open the machine. The one on the left is used to fill the reserve with tokens, using the coin mechanism.

Phantom Haus Phantom Haus

Phantom Haus

Conclusion

The "Phantom Haus" is an extremely rare machine, little known outside the world of "real" collectors. Its unique history and atypical "gameplay" make it a highly sought-after model.

Needless to say, it is not for sale!

Private

Last update of this page: April 8th, 2022

French Tech

DDS

Copyright © 2022 Flipprojets - François & Thierry DAVROUX

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies used primarily to measure the traffic on our pages, or to keep your session information.

These datas are used for technical purposes only and are not intended to serve you with advertisements, nor for targeted canvassing, or SPAM. They will not be exchanged with third-party services and will not be used outside this site.

FLIPPROJETS agrees to respect your privacy, click OK if you understand and accept these conditions, otherwise do not continue browsing and leave this site. OK

Phantom Haus

Pinup
Phantom Haus

Machine à sous WPC-95

Ce n'est pas un flipper, mais une machine à sous!

Modèle Williams ultra-rare
basé sur un système WPC-95.

Histoire

En 1996, pour faire face au déclin du marché des flippers et pour continuer à faire fonctionner ses usines, Williams se lance dans la fabrication d'une machine à sous originale.

Cette machine dont le nom "Phantom Haus" révéle bien le marché visé, sera principalement destinée au marché Européen et plus particulièrement à l'Allemagne. Phantom Haus

Elle sera classée dans la catégorie AWP ("Amusement With Price"), afin de contourner les lois sur les jeux d'argent. En principe, elle fait gagner au joueur non pas de l'argent, mais plutôt des prix (ou des jetons).

Conçue en adaptant l'architecture WPC-95, utilisée à cette époque pour les flippers, une cinquantaine de machines seront produites au total dont une dizaine restera reservée au marché US.

Bien que très prométeuse, la production du "Phantom Haus" sera pourtant rapidement arrétée et se limitera à ce premier lot. Du côté Européen, la plupart des machines envoyées à Berlin seront férraillées et il n'en subsistera malheureusement, qu'un trés petit nombre. Du côté US, beaucoup de collaborateurs Williams chercherons à aquérir cette machine innovante où ils s'étaient fortement investis. Hélas pour eux, le faible nombre d'exemplaires restant ne permis pas de satisfaire tout le monde.

L'une des raisons qui ont conduit à l'abandon de la production, était que la machine n'était pas conforme à la réglementation Allemande. En effet, le TRJ (Taux de Retour au Joueur) qui est réglementé et régulièrement contrôlé, pouvait trop facilement être ajusté entre 70% et 98% (la valeur par défaut étant de 74%).

Présentation

Le "Phantom Haus" est une machine imposante, riche en fonctionnalités et où il n'y a quasiment pas d'espace inutilisé. Il n'y a d'ailleurs besoin d'aucun éclairage "général", puisque l'intégralité des lampes (soit un total de 175 lampes, sans compter les flashs!) est pilotée par la carte CPU.

La vitre représente une maison hantée où chaque fenêtre est éclairée. Le monnayeur est installé en haut à droite. On remarque tout de suite le gros afficheur 7-segments LED sur la gauche, ainsi que la présence d'un petit afficheur DOT MATRIX au centre.

Phantom Haus Phantom Haus

Le panneau de contrôle dispose de nombreux boutons et bien sûr, des trois roues classiques d'une machine à sous. Sur la droite, on trouve une large roulette lumineuse ainsi que les niveaux du multiplicateur.

Au démarrage, le numéro de série (stocké dans le SECURITY PIC) est contrôlé et affiché. On remarque tout de suite la taille et la résolution inhabituelle de cet afficheur pour un système WPC-95.

Phantom Haus Phantom Haus

L'équipe de développement

Les personnes ayant travaillé sur le projet ne sont pas des inconnus, puisque ce sont tous des gens ayant déjà participé à la création de flippers chez Williams/Midway.

Phantom Haus

Interrogé à ce sujet, le responsable du projet (Scott Slomiany) avait nommé les membres de son équipe:

  • Scott Slomiany
  • Pete Piatrowski
  • Bill Grupp
  • Armando Zuniga
  • Linda Deal (aka Doane)

On doit à cette dernière beaucoup d'autres oeuvres, comme les backglass/translite des "Demolition Man", "Dr Who", "Cirqus Voltaire" ou encore du "The Champion Pub". Il faut lui créditer également celle du "Phantom Haus" puisque sa signature "L. DEAL" apparait en bas à droite, au dessus du copyright 1996 Williams.

Phantom Haus

A noter qu'il s'agit là de véritables vitres imprimées et non de simples translites (aussi bien pour la vitre principale que pour celle du panneau). Mieux encore, ces deux vitres comportent une métalisation avec un effet mirroir sur certaines parties. C'est assez luxueux et on est donc très loin d'une réalisation à bas coûts.

Selon Scott Slomiany, le ROI (retour sur investissement) était très faible et bien inférieur à celui des machines concurrentes. Le meuble est d'ailleurs de très bonne qualité, réalisé en contreplaqué, là où les autres utilisaient de l'agloméré (moins cher, mais aussi bien moins durable).

Versions US et Allemande

Deux versions ont été produites, la première était un prototype conçue pour le marché US et la seconde était la version définitive destinée au marché Allemand. Il y a quelques petites différences entre ces deux versions.

Seule la version Allemande existe pour le marché Européen, mais il semble bien que la machine était prévue pour sept autres pays, comme l'indique la déclaration de conformité. On y trouve mention de huit codes différents : 90201 (Allemagne), 90401 (France), 90701 (Belgique), 91001 (Angleterre), 91301 (Hollande), 91401 (Italie), 92001 (Espagne), 92201 (Suisse).

Phantom Haus

Sur le prototype US, le monnayeur est configuré pour accepter (en plus des jetons) des dollars, alors que la version Allemande utilise des Deutschmarks. A l'origine, la machine n'utilisait que deux EPROM sur la carte AV, ce qui était suffisant pour implémenter une seule langue.

La documentation ne mentionne que deux EPROM S2 et S3 : Phantom Haus

Sur la version définitive, 4 EPROM sont utilisées sur la carte "Audio vidéo" afin d'avoir deux langues disponibles simultanément.

Machine US avec carte prototype de pilotage des moteurs et 4 EPROM sur la carte A/V : Phantom Haus

Une fonction de changement de langue sera ajoutée sur la version définitive, et la console sera modifiée. Sur le prototype, seul est présent un bouton rond "Credit X". Sur la version définitive, un double bouton carré le remplace, avec à la fois le "Credit X" et le changement de langue. La bascule entre les langues peut se faire en cours de partie.

Dessin de la console figurant dans la documentation : Phantom Haus
Il est très facile d'identifier visuellement les deux versions :
Phantom Haus Phantom Haus

Deux jeux de backglass différentes ont été produits, l'un en Anglais, l'autre en Allemand. Les inscriptions sont toutes traduites, aussi bien sur la glace principale que sur celle de la console. Le marquage des boutons est également différent sur chaque version.

Phantom Haus

Bien que plusieurs langues soient proposées dans la configuration, pour les menus et les messages affichés sur le DMD, seuls l'Anglais et l'Allemand peuvent êtres choisis pour les messages vocaux.

Phantom Haus

Les boutons du panneau de contrôle sont également traduits pour la version Allemande.

Phantom Haus Phantom Haus

L'afficheur DOT 128x64

Les développeurs Williams ont certainement passé beaucoup de temps là-dessus! En effet, selon les combinaisons obtenus avec les roues, plusieurs jeux vidéos sont ensuite proposés et utilisent cet afficheur plasma.

Il sert également pour les menus de configuration, qui sont certes spécifiques, mais finalement assez semblables à ceux que l'on trouve sur les WPC-95. Phantom Haus La première particularité de cet afficheur, c'est ses dimensions. Sa taille physique horizontale est la moitié de celle des afficheurs plasma 128x32 utilisés sur les autres WPC-95.

Phantom Haus

Cet afficheur ultra-compact est fabriqué soit par Babcok (référence GP-064X128-01), soit par Cherry.

Tout comme sur les autres WPC-95, il peut afficher des images avec plusieurs niveaux de luminosité (demi-teintes).

Phantom Haus Phantom Haus

La seconde particularité, c'est sa résolution verticale. Contrairement à tous les afficheurs utilisés sur WPC-95, celui-ci à le double de lignes, soit 64 au lieu de 32, ce qui permet d'afficher des graphismes un peu plus complexes.

Phantom Haus

La carte Visual Audio (A-20516)

L'afficheur est connecté à une carte "Visual Audio" standard, non modifiée. Cela implique que cette carte était prévue dès l'origine pour piloter des afficheurs de plus de 32 lignes, ce qui n'est pas le cas de la carte vidéo (A-14039) utilisée sur les WPC-89 et WPC-S.

Phantom Haus Phantom Haus

La carte "Visual Audio" présente cependant une particularité: les circuits pour l'interface série (TL16C450 et MAX239) sont installés. C'est rare et le seul flipper WPC-95 où cette fonctionnalité a été utilisée est le NBA-FASTBREAK.

Phantom Haus

Les musiques produites par cette carte sont spécifiques au "Phantom Haus" et totalement inédites. Il y a eu un véritable travail de création à ce niveau, Williams ne s'est pas simplement contenté de reprendre d'ancien morceaux utilisés sur des flipper.

playExtrait de musique 1 playExtrait de musique 2 playExtrait de musique 3

Les voix sont disponibles en Anglais et en Allemand.

playExtrait de voix Anglaise/Allemande 1 playExtrait de voix Anglaise/Allemande 2

Divers bruitages sont bien sûr présents et tout peut se mélanger.

playMix avec musique, voix et bruitages

La sortie imprimante

L'interface série de la carte "Visual Audio" est reliée à une petite carte séparée, montée en bas, à l'avant de la machine. On peut ainsi brancher facilement une imprimante de contrôle, en accédant directement depuis le panneau avant.

Ce panneau donne également accès à la trappe de la caisse, située sur la droite dont l'accès reste encore protégé par une autre serrure.

La carte dispose d'un connecteur DB9 classique et ne comporte que peu de composants. Son rôle est surtout de protéger l'électronique interne (carte CPU/driver) contre les branchements de matériel inadapté.

Phantom Haus Phantom Haus

Phantom Haus

Mécanique et vues internes

La machine s'ouvre par l'arrière, ce qui donne accès à l'ensemble. Les cartes électroniques sont montées sur la porte basculante. Le monnayeur est situé en haut à gauche, pour que les jetons tombent par gravité.

Phantom Haus Phantom Haus

Le monnayeur fait le tri entre pièces et jetons. Les pièces acceptées tombent directement dans la caisse par l'intermédiaire de deux tubes PVC, tandis que les jetons sont mis en réserve et stockées dans un tube transparent. A leur droite et à mi-hauteur, on trouve le bloc des rouleaux mécaniques.

Phantom Haus

Ces trois roues sont actionnées par des moteurs pas à pas, commandés par une carte spécifique. On retrouve ici le même principe qui avait été utilisé sur le flipper "Who Dunnit", la taille des rouleaux étant cependant différente, de même que leur système de montage.

Phantom Haus Phantom Haus Phantom Haus

Le système de distribution des jetons dispose d'un trop plein.

Phantom Haus Phantom Haus

Trois haut-parleurs sont installés en façade.

Phantom Haus

Les lampes de la vitre sont montées sur une plaque en ABS.

Phantom Haus Phantom Haus

Alimentation et cartes électroniques

Le transformateur d'alimentation est situé tout en bas de la caisse. Le bloc d'adaptation multi-tensions est placé à proximité.

Phantom Haus

Toutes les cartes sont montées sur la porte basculante. La carte CPU et la carte "audio vidéo" sont celles standard au système WPC-95. En revanche la carte "power driver" est spécifique, de même que la carte de pilotage des moteurs.

Phantom Haus Phantom Haus Phantom Haus

Carte de contrôle des moteurs (A-21342 ou A-21037)

Contrairement au "Who Dunnit" qui a une carte de contrôle par moteur, le "Phantom Haus" utilise une carte unique pour les trois moteurs.

La documentation fait référence à deux cartes: A-21037 et A-21342. Toutes deux sont prévues pour piloter des moteurs unipolaires, la différence étant dans le système de commande. La A-21037, utilise deux signaux "horloge" et "direction", tandis que la A-21342 utilise deux signaux "A" et "B".

Phantom Haus Phantom Haus

Il semblerait que la A-21037 soit une version prototype et que la A-21342 soit la version finalisée. Cette dernière bien que très semblable, comporte moins de composants et reste compatible avec le protocole déjà utilisé sur le "Who Dunnit".

Au final, c'est bien la A-21342 qui est installée dans la machine.

Phantom Haus

Carte "power driver" (A-20971)

Cette carte a été conçue spécialement pour la machine à sous et elle est fort différente des cartes que l'on trouve sur les flippers WPC-95 (ou même WPC-S et WPC-89).

Phantom Haus

Les caractéristiques de la carte A-20971 sont:

  • Double alimentation 18 volts - requise par le nombre important de lampes commandées
  • Suppression de la section "coin counter"
  • Suppression de la partie "fliptronic" - totalement inutile sur une machine à sous
  • Matrice de lampes étendue à 96 lampes (au lieu de 64 sur les flippers)
  • Double matrice de lampes (soit un total de 192 lampes maximum)
  • Large utilisation de ULN2803 - pas de TIP36C sur cette carte
  • Section TRIAC remplacée par ULN2803 - pour les compteurs optionnels

Le nombre de lignes de la matrice des lampes passe ainsi de 8 à 12:

  • LMP ROW commande les 8 premières lignes de la matrice A
  • DIS2 commande les 8 premières lignes de la matrice B
  • DIS1 commande à la fois, les 4 autres lignes de la matrice A et les 4 autres lignes de la matrice B

La section monnayeur

A coté du monnayeur sont installés les deux boutons "Collect Token" (SW21) et "Transfert Credit" (SW22), ainsi que les lampes associées (lampes A132 "Cash Out" et A98 "Transfer Credit").

Phantom Haus

Le monnayeur est un modèle C435, qui est bien plus complexe que les C220 que l'on trouve habituellement sur les flippers.

Phantom Haus Phantom Haus

Le C435 accepte jusqu'à cinq types de pièces (ou jetons) et dispose de 4 sorties (+ un rejet) séparées. Il est possible de l'associer à un trieur plus complexe (CS4000), mais ici, il n'est utilisé que dans sa configuration la plus simple avec le trieur passif.

Phantom Haus Phantom Haus

Les piéces et jetons sont alors simplement dirigées vers des entonnoirs et tombent directement dans les tubes. Le monnayeur est relié par un connecteur de 21 broches à la carte "Coin Door" A-21245.

Phantom Haus Phantom Haus

La caisse située en bas de la machine comporte trois compartiments. Le premier reçoit les pièces sortant des chemins A et D, le deuxième celles sortant du chemin B, enfin le troisième reçoit les jetons qui debordent du trop plein (et qui sortent du chemin C).

Jetons

La législation n'autorisant pas la redistribution d'argent, la machine était conçue d'origine pour ne donner que des jetons permetant de rejouer.

Le monnayeur peut apprendre à reconnaitre n'importe quel modèle de jeton. En pratique, ceux utilisés en Allemagne était d'un type bien connu des casinos ("Weiterspiel Marke" - laiton - 14,6 gr - Ø 28,5 mm).

Phantom Haus

Williams à également produit une série de jetons à l'éffigie de cette machine.

Phantom Haus

Deux clefs sont montées en façade, juste au dessus de la corbeille de paiment. Celle de droite active le menu de configuration qui est accessible sans avoir besoin d'ouvrir la machine. Celle de gauche permet le remplissage de la réserve de jetons, en utilisant le monnayeur.

Phantom Haus Phantom Haus

Phantom Haus

Conclusion

La "Phantom Haus" est une machine extrémement rare, peu connue en dehors du monde des "vrais" collectionneurs. Son histoire singulière et son "gameplay" atypique en font un modèle très recherché.

Inutile de préciser, qu'elle n'est pas à vendre!

Privé

Dernière mise à jour de cette page: 1er Janvier 2022

French Tech

DDS

Copyright © 2022 Flipprojets - François & Thierry DAVROUX

En poursuivant votre navigation sur ce site, vous acceptez l'utilisation de cookies servant principalement à mesurer la fréquentation de nos pages, ou à conserver vos informations de session.

Ces données sont utilisées uniquement à des fins techniques et ne servent en aucun cas à vous proposer des publicités, ni pour faire du démarchage ciblé, ou encore du SPAM. Elles ne seront pas échangées avec des services tiers et ne seront pas utilisées en dehors de ce site.

FLIPPROJETS s'engage à respecter votre vie privée, cliquer sur OK si vous avez compris et acceptez ces conditions, le cas échant ne poursuivez pas votre navigation et quittez ce site. OK